HELPING GRANDAD - COOKING 3 MONTHS SUPPLY OF FOOD

in #travel6 years ago

Hello friends! Thanks to all of your get well messages, im feeling a bit better and i wanted to post about this few days ago, before I got sick! 

So every year when I go home to Latvia, I usually go shopping and get loads of food and help my grandad. As some of you might know in eastern europe for older people its very hard to survive, they monthly pension is around 250-300 euros , which is around 355 $ per month. 

I try and help him as much as i can, but unfortunately life in London is so expensive that I cant really help him every month, but what i do is cook for him for about 3-4 months when I am there. 

The food costs was a lot, even though i bought the cheapest ingredients, cheapest meat and vegetables and canned food and was planning to cook most of the dishes from scratch - the total bill was 225 euros - which is around 300 $ and imagine that was just food! 

I really feel that my grandad barely eats when he is alone, and hence he is losing weight. So at least when I come, I feel i help a little bit. I feel bad for him, my grandmother passed away nearly 3 years ago, he is alone and nearly 80 years old. He doesn't know how to cook and its so lonely. I only saw him for a day, its hard when you live so far away from your family. 

I really urge you all to help your elderly, your family is the most important thing! I cooked for about 4-5 hours in his small kitchen, and with no proper kitchen equipments. I am so grateful to my boyfriend @ivargereiko for helping me to chop vegetables, meat and peeling onions! He helped a lot, otherwise I would be there all day. 

If you can vote this post and spread the love, it would help a lot! I appreciate all of you! Thank you so much Steemit for giving me this opportunity to help my grandad. 

Alla xoxox 

Sort:  

It was my great pleasure to meet your granddad and help out a little bit with meal prep! You have amazing family Alla xxxx

alla, excuse my words, but your the fucking best. i have SO SO much love for you doing what you do for people/family. it means a lot and you are a shiny example of doing things RIGHT. i hope you are getting better lady. keep safe, keep well, learn to relax, meditate, remember my pep talk in portugal! :) x

i will never forget your pep talk!!! it was the best, thank you for the kind words! im slowly getting better! xx

so glad to hear that :) x

I really understand you my friend. I feel for him already. Its just like me, when am alone I hardly eat and am alobe without my female sibling whom I talk and gist with, its actually depressing sometimes and so food does not interest me.

My mum used to be alone but my younger brother had to go stay with her.

Can you grand dad move in with you? Loneliness is not really good at all. I hate it. Please my regards to him. I hope you have gotten better too.

oh im so so sorry to hear this! he lives in Latvia and I live in London, sadly he cannot move to a new country! but its so bad to be lonely :((

You are really good to him. Family is important we should cherish them.

It's funny I was just thinking about my late grandparents before you posted this. I did the same thing for them both, cooking to try to keep my nan from getting so thin. I found there was so much to learn from them that you can't learn from younger generations so I was really happy for the time I got to spend with them.

yeah thats for sure, they give you so much advice and they have lived a good life! i always feel like i dont spend enough time!!

Ты молодец! Сама своим родителям пенсионерам оплачиваю отопление (в Латвии). Им, реально, не потянуть ...

Еда, это вообще отдельный разговор! Откуда такие заоблачные цены, каждый раз приезжаю и удивляюсь! Как-будто не в Латвию приехала, а в Голландию!

da ja sama v shoke, ceni prosto uzas!! eda dorogaja, ja niznaju kak oni tam vizhivajut! ochenj tugo!! molodec chto tozhe pomogajesh!

You have a heart of gold for helping out your grandpa,may God bless you immensely.Wishing you and all your family all the best :)

thank you soo much :)))

You go girl @allasyummyfood. This is such a touching story and I'm crying while reading it. Amazing and thank you for showing us humanity and kindness. People who have you in their lives are so lucky!!!

aww thanks sweetie :))

i am also pensioner

Hey, i need invitation to your table

Awesome post. Grandpa must be thrilled to get that kind of love. Very nice share. We don't have to look farther than our friends and family to help make things better.

thanks :))) yeah i know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59