I got sucked-in by a scammer in Rome ~ happened so easily…

in #travel6 years ago

This is what happened, but first of all, check out this impressive fellow in costume.

My husband and I arrived in the beautiful city of Rome all excited and ready to see the sites. Dropped of our bags off at the hotel and across the Piazza to the historical Pantheon. It was busy with trillions of other tourists and this centurion. He looked impressive and naive me thought he was part of the advertisement for the theatre playing that night. I f found out otherwise, I tried to take a photo that this agreeable fellow suggested he pose with me while my husband took the photo. It was all such a laugh! Then he put out his hand demandingr €5. Yep, got sucked-in!

Well, what did I do? I said no! There was no prior agreement to any payment. But after some haggling I handed him €3 after he snapped a pic of my husband and myself. Yep, I know, I fell into the trap. Live and learn I say!

And I had just come out of the Basilica Santa and Martyers at the Pantheon where I read all about the religious history, everything being good and kind. There are so many churches in Rome, so many saints to read about, so many priests, nuns and monks. And so many fakes there are the rip-offs taking the tourist money.

When I think about the centurion I wonder if he had a family to feed? Probably not - he is more likely to be toasting the ‘sucker’ tourists!

Oh well, it makes a good story.

Cheers


Enjoy reading and please comment.


Sort:  

So, a centurian in Rome took your money. I suspect if you were in Rome two millennia ago you would have found centurians taking people's money.

You are not wrong.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

lol yes I agree with @yintercept they probably would have taken at least your money and maybe more but hey for 3 Euros I think you didn't get such a bad deal, that guy is quite the character and maybe he was down and out and had a family to feed, I give him the benefit of the doubt, I know I'm gullible.

Maybe he is very rich with this day job @janton. There are a lot of tourists in Rome.

you're probably right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73