Richmond has to be the greatest tourist attraction in Tasmania .....

in #travel5 years ago

I know it sounds like a grandiose statement but everyone who goes to Tasmania visits Richmond. It is an obligatory drop in visit off the Tasman Highway. The town is situated 25 kms north of Hobart so it is an easy drive for visitors staying in Hobart. Richmond has it all, the history, food, the arty shops, the scenery, the atmosphere, the beautiful buildings ...... it is hard to stop.

The most famous landmark in Richmond is the he bridge that was build by the convicts in 1823. Convict is the name given by England to any convicted criminal in the 19th century. Part of their sentences was sending them to the colonies as free labour. My school history books tell terrible tales of how men and women were caught and sentenced for stealing food and loaves of bread to feed their families. It was a extremely harsh and ruthless law system at the time and will be the subject of posts in the not too foreseeable future.

It is really a beautifully designed bridge that is still in use:

The white Courthouse stands out with its lovely architecture I attempted to snap a photo without the flagpole featuring but gave up because it was nigh impossible.

This simple quaint house was the style found not only in Tasmania but in early colonial settlement phase of Australia. I presume they were easy to build and easy to keep warm in the very cold winters. In Richmond they house the galleries and shops for the tourists.

The oldest church in Richmond is St Luke's Lutheran church built completed in 1836. Its cemetery is still being used. I have used a photo taken from someone else's blog because I cannot find my photos.

source

It is indeed a pretty place to visit with a number of choices to choose from. It is well worthwhile to stroll around the town which we like to do every time we visit Tasmania.

Cheers and Blessings

(Here is some accommodation for a tourist to consider if ever visiting Richmond. We haven't tried it but maybe in the future it is worth a try.)

Sort:  

Interesting about England sending convicts to the colonies. Some of my ancestors from Ireland went to Australia after uprisings against England’s rule in the 1920s.

Hi Redheadpei and yes they did, there was a very big population of Irish in the early days. My ancestry on my mum's side is English and Irish. I visited Ireland in 2006 without my husband, so we are planning a trip in a few years.

Howdy angiemitchell! Well that hotel says it's the best around so I think it's worth a try. They wouldn't lie would they? lol. I love that ancient bridge.

Nooooo, of course they wouldn't lie, lol. Hahaha.

lol..never!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11