The Most Craziest Ride Of My Life! & One Of The Most Beautiful Places In Thailand

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The other day we did this crazy epic ride with 55 cycling club, a local club here in Chiang Mai. We woke up at 5am and came back at 7pm. It took all day, we only did about 80km but climbed well over 2000m of elevation. We drove to the base of Doi Inthanon (the highest climb in Thailand) and climbed 2/3 of the epic climb then turned left to head to Mae Chaem (before the hardest and last 9km of Inthanon) and this is when the ride turned EPIC.

37508242_289136671867525_5095343647134580736_n (1).jpg

We descended to Mae Chaem which was awesome as the views were amazing then stopped for ages (we stopped a lot). Then all we were told was that we had 18km to go of “rolling hills” HAHA but turned out after 10km we had to climb the most sketchy as dodgy gravel pothole mud road I’ve ever ridden on. It was CRAZY!! Super steep 20%+ at some parts it was madness! But worth it since this view was at the top after another wall and Doi Inthanon was in the distance (I think).

At this place the farmers/locals only let you visit one month out of the year so it was definitely worth all the effort to get here, was truly beautiful. This was one adventure ride to remember! But after we stayed here for a while eating, these utes took us and all our bikes through 7km of the muddiest and most awful road (we couldn't ride road bikes there). My Thai friend and I had to hold our precious bikes on the back of the ute while it was raining and the road was so bumpy and muddy it was so difficult holding our carbon bikes so they wouldn't get damaged. That was the hardest part at the end ;) Thailand is really amazing, I could do more rides like these anytime :) If you want to see more pictures of Thailand and from this ride then follow my Instagram! @annabanananz

Kia ora, my name is Anna and I'm a 20 year old vegan cyclist and traveller from Auckland, New Zealand. I love exploring new places and sharing my passions on this platform and anything else that I want to share. I'm currently in Thailand and will be heading overseas again soon, so I will continue to share my journeys here.

Sort:  

What a journey @annabanananz, that elevation sounds scary.

The CF team is passing by to let you know about our curation project, hopefully we'll see more cycling posts from you in the future ^~

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69488.13
ETH 3501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69