Hunting crocodiles in a 1,000m high Canyon in Southern Mexico (Eng/Spa)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Adventuring Eric is back.

A few months ago I explored a river in Honduras that had a considerable crocodile population but I couldn´t manage to find at least one, I got to see a lot of birds and local flora and fauna but no reptiles... I still had that rock in my shoe telling me I should´ve searched more thoroughly.

In late January I went to Guatemala through Chiapas, México and I heard about the Sumidero Canyon and the high posibilites of spotting crocodiles in their natural habitat so I decided to give it a go.

Getting was very easy as I was staying in a nearby town called San Cristobal de las Casas, this town is world famous for its local and bohemian vibe and a lot of people from all over the world comes here to do student exchanges or simply just live here for a semester, taking advantages of the amazing food, cheap prices and nice night life.

Here is the picture Gallery from my adventure

Hace algunos meses tuve la oportunidad de explorar un río en Honduras que se supone tenía una población considerable de cocodrilos pero no pude encontrar ninguno, pude ver algunas aves y flora y fauna local pero nada de reptiles.... Todavía tenía esa piedra en el zapato que no me dejaba dormir, diciendome que quizás debí haber buscado más por ellos.
A finales de Enero estuve en Chiapas, Mexico rumbo a Guatemala y escuché sobre este hermosos Cañón del sumidero y las altas posibilidades de encontrar cocodrilos en su hábitat natural sí que decidí explorarlo.
Llegar al cañón fue sencillo ya que me quedé en San Cristobal de las Casas, un pueblo lleno de vibra local y bohemia en el cual muchas personas de todo el mundo vienen a hacer intercamnios estudiantiles o a quedarse por unos cuantos meses para vivir la vida tranquila, disfrutar los precios bajos y la comida deliciosa así como la vida nocturna.
Aquí les dejo una galería de fotos de mi aventura.

IMG_4309.JPG

I wish I could drop more pictures of the Canyon, but those I took are the best that I got from a personal point of view while exploring the Canyon from below.

Me gustaría incluir más fotografías del cañón, pero estas son las mejores que obtuve desde mi punto de vista explorando el cañón desde abajo.

IMG_4352.JPG

IMG_4335.JPG

IMG_4347.JPG

IMG_4356.JPG

We found an altar for Guadalupe´s Virgin (The latin american version of Virgin Mary) and it was beautiful to feel how sacred the place was.

Encontramos un altar a la virgen de Guadalupe, fue hermoso sentir lo sagrado que el lugar se percibía.

IMG_4342.JPG

IMG_4297.JPG

IMG_4330.JPG

IMG_4292.JPG

IMG_4366.JPG

IMG_4375.JPG

IMG_4380.JPG

That´s it for today amigos...

Remember, be Here Now

Sort:  

whoaaaa
Seems like steemian could be found anywhere!

Excelente,la perserverancia conlleva al logro,no solo conseguiste cocodrilo sino que diisfrutaste de un ambiente hermosamente natural.

Wow...the description and the pictures mehn!

I have added the place to my 'must visit' list. Great way to live man.

I want to be like you when I am grown 🙇

Living la vida loca 😎
Following your adventures with joy! 🐊
Glad to see adventuring Eric back :)

Awesome pictures, I love adventures too but little it is I can explore with little or no funds. I’d love to travel the world in 80days lol. Keep steeming and exploring. Those pictures are extraordinary, keep up the good work. Thanks for sharing

exelente post y muy buenas fotos

followback and like my stream pls!

Muy buenas imagenes, el que busca muchas veces encuentra, te felicito por tus recorridos. Gracias por el apoyo a mi post . Saludos Luz Fermín

Gracias a ti por comentar!

Thanks for sharing this @anomadsoul, today is chinese new year. hopefully you enjoy this day and have a good day!

a very nice place to visit ...

Awesome pics man, looks like you are having a lot of fun and adventures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89