You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Driving all four

in #travel5 years ago

Great explanation. I found out the hard way how inadequate AWD SUVs are for the Aussie outback. I was taking a dirt road shortcut in NW NSW that I knew well and most of the road was fine. Then suddenly it was a complete bog, turned from a road into deeply corregated terrain by Road Trains. The SUV didn’t have the clearance for the corregations and got stuck. Without differential lock one set of wheels just spun. I had to reverse out and go another way.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

You make a good point about the SUV. I’ve seen many Subaru Foresters, Nissan X-Trails and the like in areas that, whilst dry, are completely fine but can be impassable if a shower of rain comes down. They have their place of course, their uses, however they can get a person into trouble as you found out...Not that you had trouble per se but you could have. I’ve pulled many vehicles out of areas they had no right being in (provided they had their own recovery gear.)

I think it comes down to common sense although the manufacturers don’t help as they pitch their vehicles as more capable than they actually are on their commercials.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes after that I always hired serious 4WD vehicles for outback use. Only problem is that they are much more expensive to hire.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88