Secrets of serene Lake Wanaka!

in #travel6 years ago

When you first get to the town of Wanaka, you don’t expect to see much, but there are some lovely hidden beautiful spots. 

 

Wanaka is on the south island of New Zealand:

On our where to Wanaka:

Climbing up over the hills we came across a view site. We needed to stretch our legs. So getting out our cars we walked up to the view site. Looking all around, both sides of us, this is what we saw: 

Standing high up on the mountain top, its breath taking! You feel you don’t want to leave, but because it was cold, we got back in our cars.

This is what we also saw on our way to the town of Wanaka:

Arriving in Wanaka:

We first looked for our lodgings. And they were lovely and clean. Our chalets were container size, well-furnished and comfy. 

Once unpacked, we ventured out, down by the lakeside.

The immense open view of the lake:

There was hardly anyone around and the lake was calm and peaceful. The panoramic view of the lake is so open and wide, it spreads 180 degrees before you. 

But stitching so many photos together… the result was so disappointing. It doesn’t do it any justice. So sadly, I’m showing you only the furthest point (the centre part) of the lake’s view for you to see: 

Our grandsons went off on their bikes to explore the left-hand side of the bay. And our menfolk went off for a walk in that direction too. What they saw, I don't know of cause, but they did say it was lovely along that trail.

My secret spot:

While in Wanaka we drove around to the right-hand side of the bay. You can go along Lakeside Road, up to and near Eely Point. And that is where we came across this most beautiful spot and view of the bay: 

Walking away from the rest of the family, I turned into the trees and undergrowth, looking for something nice to photograph. And to my surprise I found this awesome leafy scene: 

To me it was a special spot. A secret spot, away from the world, that I was overcome with its emotional impact. But I didn’t paint it because the scene is too leafy for a small composition. So I did this one instead, from a different angle: 

 

But even so, it’s also leafy. So you may have to stand back to get it properly into focus! 

And the next day, we were off again exploring:

…And spent the day out at an awesome lavender farm. And that I will tell you all about and display another of my oil paintings… in my next New Zealand blog. 

Sort:  

you are a really great person in the steemit platform.always sharing alots beautifull place of new zealand.just excellent.wanaka is a very wonderfull place.absolutely you describe doing real beauty of wanaka serene lake..every photo you capture very perfectly.everything possible your proper photography causes.you are very talented person in my whole life. sky's and sea's light purple shimmer highlights the green leaves on the right just perfectly. I liked the next part of your journey. I will wait for the continuation.if when is possible,i am of course going to wanaka..i appreciate your post.but i am not comment your two post.because i feel fever my body.but today i am fully ok..i hope that,you are good. i wish that,you stayed doing happily alltime.enjoy your beautifull place nature beauty and gift giving alots of valuable and best excellent place all steemians friend..very well done..my dear friend.. @artguru take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..thanks to sharing for your amazing place and good photography..capture very nice environment place..

Hi. Thanks for the complements. But the red-purple in the image of my oil painting is actually a shadow created by my camera when photographing the painting. In fact the sky has a tinge of yellow in it! I usually do a light wash of raw sienna as my first undercoat. Then it radiates through the top coats, giving the paintings an impression that the sun is shining. But sadly cameras can't do justice to the beauty of the real painting!
I was amused that you also have been having fever. I'm travelling in CapeTown at present, and had to go to the doctors last evening. So that's why I didn't reply to comments last night.

View from the top of the mountain reveals the most beautiful view. Being at such a peak you can appreciate the whole scale of everything around you. I would be curious to see all these beautiful places.

The view of the bay is magnificent. So much vegetation and untouched nature. I think in such places you can get complete solitude and relax from the city bustle. But the main attraction of today's message is your picture. She is amazing. I wonder how long it takes to create one such picture?

I liked the next part of your journey. I will wait for the continuation.

The view from the top of the mountains and the bay/lake was so magnificent. What you see in those photos can't express the magnitude and beauty of it, at all!!
Yes Wanaka may seem a quiet place after Queenstown. But I suppose as an artist I see beauty where others may not. "Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder," as the saying goes.
I always wanted to paint rows of lavender, like the old masters did. So I was excited to go to the lavender farm... Well you will see what I painted... next New Zealand blog...

I love the colour composition in the last image. The sky's and sea's light purple shimmer highlights the green leaves on the right just perfectly.

With all those different experiences you are going through, who know where we can expect you in the future! Safari in South Africa? Jungle expedition in South America? Or even visiting Mars by spacehsip? 😃

Yes, I still have more to write up on New Zealand. And I do plan to write about the places I've been to in South Africa. I would like to travel to the other places you mentioned, but the moon is pushing the buttons too far!! HeHe!

Wanaka is looking soo special and beautiful full of nature greenree everywhere and yeah you right their are some spots which are visible to only those who spend great time in that area! thanks for sharing such an beautiful secret of south newzland! @artguru

I love going to new places and seeking out beautiful scenery to paint. The excitement of the adventure has a grip on me. I will do anything for a good photograph! My daughter only a couple of days ago pulled me off some high rocks because she thought it was scary with me balancing there with my camera!

haha!well your i really loved your deviation with photography and yeah she must be woring about your crazyness about photography may god bless you and your daughter with happiness and success and keep it up!

Goodness the scenery is mind blowing. Wanaka is one place to be to escape the noisy city. Unbelievably beautiful. Thankyou for posting about these places that are sensitizing us on the beautiful nature the world still has. I honestly believe many of the users reading this post are planning a tour to this tremendous site. The painting.. Oh yeah, it's detailing the beauty in Wanaka.

Yes, Wanaka was a peaceful place, especially after Queenstown!
I think family really planned a wonderful route through New Zealand's south island.

Amazing journey again dear @artguru ,,
that's really something I love to watch, it's really beautiful and intresting place.. I like your blogs about travel in New Zealand. . New Zealand for sure is a natural beauty that everyone must see...Wanaka is a very beautiful place..green nature and wonderful environment...... The Wanaka looks amazing. attractive and curious to tour all places....You highlight the real beauty of the green nature with your photography skills..
Great photography dear :) Stay blessed ✌✌

Wanaka was like visiting `sleepy hollow' after been to Queenstown. But if you seek beauty you will find it! And taking photos helps you see beauty, looking for good compositions.

You know what i feel good about your posts ,

you make you trip memorable by painting them....i really love that...

The way you made that water reflective that defines art to me...realistic....awesome MAAM

I took so may photos while travelling through New Zealand, so I've naturally been excited to paint them. But time permitting haven't been able to paint as many as I would like. But you will see more in my blogs, as time goes on.
Yes, I think adding an actual painting makes a difference to one's blogs, as you implied.

I am an artist too ,i know it how it feels to portray things...

I'm so happy to hear your are an artist too. And that you would appreciate the drive we have to paint everything we see.
Now that I've and seen beautiful seascape scenes here in CapeTown (just visiting for a week) I can't wait to get my hands on brushes again and paint great waves dashing on high rock formations, spray and all!

The place looks nice. It's just that I remember the movie "hills have eyes" whenever I see those very wide terrain without a single people. Who knows what's in there?

I have never seen that movie, but from now on, I think of hills and mountains having `eyes'.

I think your exploration isn't going to end. And I also think there is a lot to discover in New Zealand.

Yip, I still have more to write about and paint scenes of New Zealand. It was a fantastic trip. I will never forget it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63