Have you ever been to Kotor (Part 2)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I love old towns.  The bricks hold the feeling of the ages.  You can tune into a past life, then see that life continuing in the faces of the local people.  

 Above the Old Town is a steep walk  up St. John's Hill where you can find a cathedral and a view out over the gulf.   

This is one of my travel sketches of the walk.  I draw very quickly when I'm out walking.

It's easy to spend the day wandering the alleyways of the old town, discovering shops, taverns and open squares. Kotor was part of the Venetian Republic for over 300 years and the lane ways and buildings have that mysterious Venetian feeling.  

Capers  and wildflowers grow in the cracks and crevices of the fortifications, bringing colourful relief to the high stone walls.

The old town has survived the plague, earthquakes and many wars and now it must survive curious tourists.  An old World War II message reads   "What belongs to others we don't want, ours we don't give."  It sums up my experience of the energy of the place, still somewhat closed to the outside world but with so much to offer.

In the bright spring sunshine, I enjoyed a beer and wondered what had happened to the spirit of this place and how it would move towards the future.  

--------- 

I was inspired to write about my time in Montenegro by @JoyTheWanderer 's recent post in her Balkan Diary about her time in the nearby national park. Check it out.  

--------- 

Margot Duncan (Ph.D) is an artist, author and Chi Enthusiast who likes to write about art, energy and intuition.

Sort:  

I love your photos, and the World War II message. Neither a borrower nor lender be. I really enjoy seeing your sketches underneath the actual image and taking a peek at your perspective of the landscape since we all emphasize the parts we appreciate most in our art. I look forward to learning more about your travels!

Welcome to steemit, Margot! I've never been to Kotor but your pictures from there definitely makes me want to see it myself. Read your intro post and I have to say I loved your piece Jewel. Looking forward to seeing more from you. Happy steeming!

Thanks for your lovely comments. It means a lot to me - it's hard finding your way around a new place like steemit. It's encouraging to meet other interesting people!

regards,
Margot

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 3 Reasons To Keep A Journal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59