How to Alternate Between Your Surf Board & Paddle Board

in #travel6 years ago

For tips and tricks on how to alternate between your SUP and your surfboard, check out my steps below! I have been a shortboard surfer all my life and getting into paddle boarding has been one of the most exciting things I’ve done in a while. However, there are days that roll around when I feel less than on my A-game when switching between my 5’6″ surfboard & my 10’6″ All Around SUP. Although I love both boards so much, sometimes I have to pick one over the other. I’ve tried SUP Surfing and didn’t like it as much. I preferred the separate forms of paddling on each of the boards rather than combining the two.

1. Yoga

Practicing yoga every day keeps my body warmed up, stretched out and healthy. I feel prepared for any type of water activity after doing yoga — whether I’m working out my shoulders & legs doing stand up paddling, or preparing to spend a few hours getting tossed around in the waves while surfing.

2. Take A Day Off

Give your body the rest that it deserves. Take a break from your paddle board & surfboard. This will give you more time to think about whether you want to stand up paddle or surf the next day!

3. Water Variety

Paddle board in a lake, use your surfboard on a river! Change up the scenery every once in a while to keep things fresh. If you get too used to one routine on your paddle board and surfboard, it gets harder to break.

4. Clean Eating

Eating healthy mostly goes without saying, but to even get half the energy you need for stand up paddling or surfing, give your body the nutrition it needs.

5. Bring a Buddy

What’s better than being on a paddle board & surfboard alone? Bringing one of your BFF’s of course. Bringing a friend always makes playing around in the water more fun. Go for a moonlight stand up paddle or a dawn patrol surf session and bring your friends along too!

If any of these tips helped you out, like this post and leave a comment below! Thanks for reading — be sure to share this post as well!

Check out the full post here on SUP Pacific!

If you like this post, check out the other #paddles or check out my website SUP Pacific

Follow us or check us out on social media:

Steemit
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
Reddit
Pinterest
Google+

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62