Big Island Hawaii : 4

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Big Island does have beaches of various kinds. My favorite is (well, hard to pick) the Green Sand Beach. It is the Papakolea beach near the southernmost point of Big Island.

This is actually a partially broken cinder cone where ocean came in. The sand is actually green; as the grains are actually Olivine crystals which is green in color.

Here is a close up:

It is bit of a hike to get there, about 3 miles. It’s very popular and locals gives you a ride too in their truck. But unfortunately they don’t follow any rules and the path is fairly rutted due to numerous tire marks on the dirt. So I prefer walking. Trust me it is gorgeous when you get there and the sand is really green.

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

Am trying to imagine - that green sand on black rock, stunning and surreal!
And the first photo... looks like a chunk of rock jutting out to sea, when you suddenly realise there are actually ant-size people all around the curve of beach... then the dimension hits you!

Yeah, the dimension hits you indeed! You can also see some trucks and a white jeep parked at the rim. Its a 4WD trail, but poor/non-existing management is destroying that landscape. So I prefer no to drive there. Its not people's fault per say... poverty level with local Hawaiian is high, and this gives them easy money. But I still wish they manage the trail system though. Have one trail, rather than many random ones.

The walk is spectacular, and there are other patches of green sands before the beach proper. The second picture is one such patch. Smaller patches are better preserved naturally, as there are no people.

wow, it looks stunning!I have never heard about green sand! Looking cool :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-09T22:01:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 243.90/200.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.56 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is amazing! I've never seen anything like it before! Don't you wish you could view a time lapse taken over millions of years and watch how this beautiful beach formed?

I am imagining.. sitting on the rocks... book in hand... the waves splashing to the shore or against other rocks... and just losing myself in the story from the book.

SUCH a serene me moment here

Actually that is me most times in Hawaii. I have been there more than 10 times I think... it never gets old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60