Circus at Lempuyang

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I did an introductory picture post on Pura Lempuyang a couple of days back. The shot below is one of the classic examples of the preferred pictures tourists at Lempuyang like to take. Before I get into the details of how and why I call it a circus, I will talk about the temple very shortly

Please do not get me wrong, Pura Lempuyang is a beautiful temple complex. It is a temple complex of eight different temples, located along the slope of Mt. Lempuyang, which is a dormant volcano. It is considered by Balinese as one of the six holiest places in the world, and it is the highest temple at Bali. It is one of the oldest temples in Bali as well.

With all that said now, here comes the fun part. It is over-loved! Its high location and along with that spectacular gate giving an impression that the gate is floating in air, gives tourists the opportunity to take the perfect jumping shot. So hundreds of people will (yes, 100s) line up in the mid-day sun for hours to take a 1-min opportunity to take that shot. Everyone's shot looks perfect because one person takes all the pictures, one person directs the crowd and one person calls the poses while shouting on a microphone:
1st pose... ok... now stand... second pose... do yoga pose.... ok ... third pose... jump!! ... you are done... NEXT!

Three shots each.... and the ritual goes on and on....

In the picture above you can see the spiraling line entering the shaded area to the left. Where the line ends, there is a guy sitting who takes all the photographs. He must have taken millions of those shots... practice makes it perfect. It is hard to stand for a long time in the mid-day sun, so I am sure everyone appreciate the shade. I might sound sarcastic of this ritual, but I am glad that they do it, otherwise no one will be able to take any shots in the crowd.

All in all, I must say it is an excellent spot to visit. If you want to avoid crowds, try visiting early morning, and it will be a rewarding experience.

Disclaimer: All photographs are my own. Just ask me please if you like to use and share; citing the source is fine.

Sort:  

hey @azircon, i'm from calcutta[kolkata], tumi bangla bolte paro...tomar photograph gulo khub sundar, amer bhalo lage tomar blog post porte :)

What?! No photo of you at the gates.... jumping perhaps... or any other pose??? :) Bet you wanted a shot there too... :) ...or are you keeping it from us?!! :) :)

Yes I wanted a shot there. I even thought it will be a special shot. I thought it will be a peaceful place like many others in Bali. May be next time, eh?

I think early morning would be a good time to try... before the crowds get in...

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97