My Quick Trip To GTMO!! (Guantanomo Bay)

in #travel7 years ago

So my company calls me and tells me that I have to fly out to GTMO, to address some issues relating to business there. I normally have to go about once every 3 month, but since I just joined the community this month, thought I'd post a couple pics of my time there. Now I know to some people this is a controversial place, but hey, for me, it's just business and we provide wireless service to the community so they can connect with their friends and family back home!!

So the above pic is obviously a guard tower overlooking the perimeter, one of many situated around the base. And no...this is not a guard tower at one of the facilities where they keep the remaining prisoners. This is to prevent the Cubans from trying to breach the base here, which still happens several times a year. This is a JTF (Joint Task Force) base, so there's Army, Navy and Marine personnel stationed here. Each branch has their own specific duties, and it's the Marines that guard the perimeter fence line. OO-RAHHH

They have some pretty cool T-Shirts here....picked up a couple!!!!

Now this is a shot looking down from the guard tower (with the American Flag), and this is a pretty famous site, where Cuban and US personnel meet around once a month, to discuss....things?? Not really sure what they discuss, but it kinda reminds me of the Korean DMZ meetings, however it doesn't look as onimous here, although I'm told that the Marines do take precautions and have "assets" in place with a watchful eye in case something happens.

Had to have one of me in front of the gates!!!

Now here's the infamous Camp X-Ray, which you can see is now falling apart and dilapidated! This has since been closed for some time and now there's other more updated "facilities" in use!

Finally wanted to introduce you to my "little friend"! Now behind this big ass lizard, is the lodging quarters where I'm staying for the week, and this little fellow is famous here, and he stays in the drainage ditch right on the corner of the street. I saw him last time I was here a few months back, and literally freaked out, but now he just stares at you as much as I stare at him.

Now is that not a lovable face??? So there protected here, and I believe I heard they hit you with a HUGE fine, and probably get sent over to one of the camps to enjoy the company of some of the "foreign guests" there! That's a joke....don't want to get in trouble for that.....talking about the camps, not the fine....

So hope you liked these and thought they were interesting, and if so, would appreciate a little upvote...follow wouldn't be bad either....thanks fellow Steemians!!!!

Sort:  

You are an interesting person to follow. Not what I had imagined the camp to look like. Nice pet! Thanks for a great post.

Well thank you...following you back.....

Thanks for stopping by. 🐓🐓

Thank you for this most interesting post and the photos. Of course, terrible abuses have happened here; Gitmo represents a stage of history the US and other countries will be deeply ashamed about (if they are not already). But having to work and sleep there like that? Interesting! Please post if you've got any other good stories....

Thanks @healingherb...appreciate your comment and look forward to posting some more...

Thanks....appreciate that....

nice buddy, have a look to my photos from my trip to Iceland if you like

Heading there now....thanks for the vote...

I worked there for a year what a bunch of loosers the Navy is who operates this place the CO,XO and everyone else. I had to stay for a year and then got the hellout I would rather go back to Afghanistan and get bombed everyday than work with those loosers.

That lizard looks like he is the base guard dog or mascot, lol

LOL...yea....he's a legend

Satellite connection?

They only have T-Mobile on the base....works great....and has LTE speed..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59