You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dead Bodies of Amsterdam - Body Worlds: The happiness project. (graphic content warning)

in #travel7 years ago

I am pretty freaked out by this to be honest! I found the pictures hard to look at knowing they were real people. If I hadnt have known they were dead bodies, I think the impact would have been more fascination on the human anatomy and the artistic placement. Very controversial and has frazzled my brain this morning! Thank you... I think lol :)

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to freak you out so early in the morning haha :D
And yes I agree, I think it's a really deep and interesting topic. I mean, what makes a human human? A body is "just" a suit we wear, no? Isn't dead bodies just a taboo caused by our society and religion?

And the bodies would have just been buried or cremated. Now they are being used for educational and artistic reason. But than on the other side, would I give my body to an exhibition like this... hmmm don't know.

Sorry to freak you out again and have a good day!

Exactly! I think the main thing that bothered me was that if I had been the one to donate my body to a cause like this, I am not sure my soul (is there a soul?) would be happy with the placements that some of these bodies have been put in! It really does make you question who we are...are we just a shell? is it just our brains that make us think and feel? Do our bodies really matter eg once you are dead, you are dead? So many thoughts on this. I guess this is how people thought of autopsy when they first started the process in greece 2500 years ago! Maybe this will become commonplace in years to come :O Who knows!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66