[ITINERARY] How to Make the Most of 5 Days in the CANADIAN ROCKIES

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6881 copy.jpg

As promised, here is my first itinerary on how to spend 5 INCREDIBLE days in the Canadian Rockies (my favorite place). If you need any convincing on going there, this is my photo gallery that you can drool over be inspired by ;)

And this google map has all the points organized by day so you can see the trip from a geographic perspective! (Maybe steemit will allow google maps to be embedded sometime!).

If there is a possibility that you can spare more time, I highly recommend it! I've spent a month total in the Rockies (over 2 trips) and did not want to leave each time.

Untitled design.png

In the case that you can extend your trip, I have a full guide with information on where to stay each night (the 2 main towns aren't always convenient as I found out on my first trip and spent lots of time driving) and the specifics to make each day a BREEZE (rainy day alternatives, food recommendations, etc) so you are able to fully EXPERIENCE the Rockies. But, most importantly, I have add-ons to extend your trip so you can have up to 3 weeks of adventure and know when in the trip to do them (efficiency is key).

But for now, here's a breakdown of the 5 days:

Day 1- See immense beauty right from the start at Emerald Lake. This is the perfect starting point since it is on the way to the main town in the Rockies that most people are familiar with, Banff, whether you are flying into the Calgary International Airport or driving up from Vancouver. This day is flexible whether you have all day or just a few hours of daylight so you can definitely paddle the lake and then do any of the extras that interest you.

Day 2- See the 2 most iconic lakes of the Rockies, which are a short distance away from each other. If you are coming in the Summer, GO EARLY to get parking and avoid crowds. Definitely do one of the hikes listed in the areas surrounding either of these lakes for maximum views.

Day 3- Many people who have lived and visited the Rockies have told me to visit Sunshine Meadows. It took my second visit to make it happen, so don't make my mistake. This is a beautiful area that is a short distance from Banff. There are several options for hikes from short walks, long day hikes, and backpacking trips (more details are in the full guide).

Day 4- This is the day to drive the scenic 3 hours to Jasper along the Icefields Parkway. You will likely see many animals. I saw mountain goats, brown and black bears, elk, and a moose just along the side of the road (you will know there are animals when you see a bunch of cars pulled over). There are many stunning lakes, short walks to incredible viewpoints, and rewarding hikes along the way so it makes for a full day!

Day 5- Have one day in Jasper to get up close to the Edith Cavell glacier. I was impressed by the massive cracking sound the ice makes with just a small spew of snow falling into the bright green-blue lake below. Then, head on to your next destination. But hopefully, you can add-on some more days because there is so much more!

THANK YOU for supporting me! I am totally obsessed with creating plans like these and hope they inspire more people to travel and experience beautiful places. It is so easy when you have a plan and when you are hiking, biking, and walking like most of my itineraries will have you doing, these trips are very affordable.

My next itinerary will be of VANCOUVER, a city I have lived for 8 years. Stay tuned.

Do you have any suggestions for future itineraries?

Also, I am doing 30 blog posts in the next 30 days so please follow along and let's get to know each other!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82