One of my Favorite Places

in #travel6 years ago

In 2011 my wife took this photo from the village of Fonteres on the Rio Dulse in Guatemala.
Our boat anchored just off in the background.
Guatemala is a great country, and great tourist destination with lots to do and see.

photostudio_1520114554237.jpg

Sort:  

A quote from Sterling Hayden’s book, Wanderer

To be truly challenging, a voyage, like a life, must rest on a firm foundation of financial unrest. Otherwise, you are doomed to a routine traverse, the kind known to yachtsmen who play with their boats at sea... "cruising" it is called. Voyaging belongs to seamen, and to the wanderers of the world who cannot, or will not, fit in. If you are contemplating a voyage and you have the means, abandon the venture until your fortunes change. Only then will you know what the sea is all about.

"I've always wanted to sail to the south seas, but I can't afford it." What these men can't afford is not to go. They are enmeshed in the cancerous discipline of "security." And in the worship of security we fling our lives beneath the wheels of routine - and before we know it our lives are gone.

What does a man need - really need? A few pounds of food each day, heat and shelter, six feet to lie down in - and some form of working activity that will yield a sense of accomplishment. That's all - in the material sense, and we know it.

But we are brainwashed by our economic system until we end up in a tomb beneath a pyramid of time payments, mortgages, preposterous gadgetry, playthings that divert our attention for the sheer idiocy of the charade.

The years thunder by, The dreams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience. Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.
Where, then, lies the answer? In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

Wow! Sterling Hayden.
My dad gave me one of his books "Voyage" that I carried and read on my first cruising boat.
It was a very influential book.

Adventure truly does begin once I am out of money, I sail faster, farther, and find that necessity is the mother of all invention, all while finding the best people and places.

I wish my votes had some power, I'm just getting going on Steemit. Thanks for the vote.

Your vote has power to me. Thank you, and nice to meet you.

I just posted a photo from Shirley Heights today but forgot to #knot. Quite the learning curve, but I like it. Thanks again for your encouragement

Thats an awesome photo.
There is three lookouts (hills), one has the info center, one the restaurant, and one that looks out to the east (overlooking Eric Clapton's house).
Did you visit all three?

I bet that was a fun sailing trip. If it was winter 2015 I would have been in VI or BVI.

It was 2015 and were up to the BVI's for about a week or 10 days. Love St. Martin as well, Grand Case Bay especially. Would be cool to run into you one of these days.

That would be cool.
Will you be in the Caribbean this season?

Wow, its amazing, very beautiful and nice place...

I dont think that I could ever get tired of being there.
We departed because we ran out of money, and the real fun starts once the money is gone ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75