India to Australia: Long neck village

in #travel6 years ago

FB_IMG_1539839086684.jpg
Long Neck Village is hidden between rice paddies, pineapple farms, water crossings and windy bendy roads.

FB_IMG_1539839096808.jpg

Karen tribe also known as the Long Neck tribe, came to Thailand from Burma, when escaping war and violence in their country. They are world famous for their women, who wear golden rings around their necks. From the time they are 5 to their 21st birthday, each year one ring is added to their collection. At the end, their necks get so long that these women are often called “Long Necks” and according to Karen people, the longer the neck the more beautiful the woman who wears them is.

FB_IMG_1539839093264.jpg

Karen live only in the north of Thailand and in Burma. There are no other places in the world where one can meet them. Originally they were farmers, but at the moment their main income comes from tourism and it feels more like a tourist attraction then a traditional village.

FB_IMG_1539839090173.jpg

Sort:  

I am searching for the word to describe what I’m thinking/feeling now, but my train is arriving at the station, and I have to finish my comment now ;-)
Love the picture!

That looks painful man!

Lol...but they are actually enjoying it.

I also visited the "Longs-Necks" in their villages in Burma. Very impressive

Crazy how we end up with some of the different traditions in our cultures.
Sad that there culture is being reduced to a tourist attraction.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is very interesting! I need to read more about this, please. I felt cheated when reading such a short post 😂

You do a great job, really. Enjoy a lot, learn a lot and share everything. Have a good day! 😄💙

I had love to personally go and meet them. I have a thousand plus questions for them.

Great pictures amd story! That looks terribly uncomfortable! Amazing what some will do to acieve their desired features. Does not seem to matter what "neck" of the woods we are in. Ha! Neck
I crack myself up!🤣
I can learn alot from you. Thanks. Keep Steemin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91