A smoggy day in Guangzhou (China) - Travelblog & Photography

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A smoggy day in Guangzhou


It was a smoggy day in Guangzhou, just like almost any other day. I decided to grap my camera and go discover the streets of this enormous city with 14 million inhabitants.
Finding a cap is easy but trying to explain where you want to go is almost impossible when you don't speak Chinese, luckily I brought a map with. I actually had no clue where to go so I just pointed to the centre of the city on the map. We arrived at the location and the only thing I saw on the way there, were high "dirty" and primitive looking apartment buildings.


The next two hours I walked, the scenery stayed the same: busy streets, tall apartments , polluting cars and people on their cellphones. Oh, and once in a while you could see some cyclists risking their lives on these dangerous roads. 

Finally! It felt great to find something that felt more like what you would expect to find in China: a typical Chinese park. The busy streets and tall buildings dropped to the background and got replaced by some green and cosy streets. On the amount of people being there, I was clearly not the only one happy to find this place.

One of my absolutely favorite things to find here were the boats. Probably my favorite photo aswel from this serie. For me they gave the whole park an elevated peaceful atmosphere. For me a boat represents rest and freedom, so maybe thats why.
I spend the rest of my afternoon in this park observing the local people. It's something I love to do visiting another place. Just sit and watch, taking in the local atmosphere. It made me realise how much different my culture is from the Chinese culture. And it made me appreciate this place so much more because I could tell a lot of people and families came her to find some peace in this enormous fast growing city.


Sort:  

Looking forward for your following adventures ! Nice article !

@bonaventurehoste I also like the most the picture you made with the boats. I think the views from the boat, along the river in Guangzhou City are charming. I read that historical sites and unique architecture are scattered along the river and that they are a goodly reflection of the Guangzhou culture.

We did everything by cab and by foot. But yes, a boat trip along the river would be perfect! Wish I thought of this earlier! :D

Wao so nice

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bonaventurehoste to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

You got a 3.17% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @bonaventurehoste!

You got a 6.67% upvote from @upyou thanks to @bonaventurehoste!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62