In Pictures - Plitvice Lakes Marathon

in #travel6 years ago

How does an avid beer connoisseur suddenly turn into a marathon runner? He does not, hehe. Maybe I’ll give it a try next year but I was quite satisfied with my 5 km starter race this time.


A decent gathering of runners tackle this challenging and stunningly beautiful race around the UNESCO protected Plitvice National Park. The park is known for its gushing waterfalls and crystal clear lakes.

The marathon loops around the hilly terrain of the park surroundings and offers as much scenery as it does challenge. I ran the 5k and it was challenge enough, as I stated already! The course basically drops down the road for 2.5kms, and then grinds back up to the finish line.

I was imagining free beer at the finish line to keep myself going but in the end there was none. Ah well, you have to dream!

The price is affordable since it includes an entry ticket to the national park. Basically a free visit with other racing perks. Also, a pretty famous Croatian rap rock band played for the contestants and passers-by so that’s an added value. I enjoyed my company and surroundings quite a bit and I’ll do a park report in the next few days while watching the markets. I took some green time to take a break from Bitcoin wedges. I hope everyone here is healthy and happy!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP


Test your crypto knowledge with daily crpyto-guess contest at @killerwhale!!Meet the creative Steemian behind MinnowBooster project and see if he can help you!

If you want an advertisement for your project/proposal/account find me in Discord and let's chat!


Buy BTC with Coinbase. Free 10$ in the link. Don’t want to spend money and you don’t like writing posts? Check out @sportsncoffee and @steempickem for FREE Sports Contests!


I offer good curation rewards if you’d like to follow my trail! Find me in chat or discord. Same username. Earn while you sleep! Expect @adventureevryday, @professorbromide, @cheftony, @derrick829, @kriptonoob, @jpederson96, @anejosua’s vote and many more when I upvote! If you liked their vote, show some love back!
Find me at https://steemauto.com/

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this Post @buzzbeergeek, Actually in the 1970s here in US some of are most famous Marathoners including Bill Rodgers were famous for drinking a six pack a day or two before running an Event.

Or so by some by accounts say.

But as a runner of over 50+ 10Ks myself looks like a great Course to run. Thanks again

They say carbs are good before a run. Who knows...

@buzzbeergeek,

How does an avid beer connoisseur suddenly turn into a marathon runner?

For me suddenly couldn't do it. Need one month practice every day. But beer feeling so awesome for better run up. Around beautiful location they ran marathon. Beauty images and finally at night tasted beer line. Just perfect.

Lol free beer at the end of q finish line? The organiser would not even think of that😀😀😀😀

Lol...Interesting race..

Haha 5km? Anyway that's a nice try. Besides, I love that settlement, it looks cool

Plitvice su jednostavno predivne 😊
Steta sto nije bilo besplatnog piva na kraju trke 😁😁

Congratulations @buzzbeergeek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65