Returned from ROME + Putting the Pictures into Context [PART 2]

in #travel6 years ago

Yesterday I returned home from my 7 day trip to Rome and man it was worth every damn minute. I strolled for hours and hours but I feel like I've got the most out of the seven days I was there. And rightfully so, Rome is a city with countless of culutral gems that are worth visiting. And I'm confident when I say that I've seen the best of the best.You may or may not have noticed but during my time in Rome I posted a picture of the best moments every single day as I had planned before hand. In this post I will list all the picture chronologically and provide some context as to why I chose a specific picture over the countless others I made that day.

We visited the famous Lupa (she-wulf in latin) on the fourth day in the Musei Capitolini. The Lupa Capitolina is perhaps the most famous symbol of Rome. It portrays a she-wulf who, according to legend, raised the brothers Romulus and Remus. Romulus would go on and found the city of Rome.

On the fifth day of my stay I visited the Galleria Borghese and stumbled upon this legendary piece of Gianlorenzo Bernini. This baroque sculpture portrays Hades/Pluto who abducts the young Proserpina to the underworld. It's mindblowing how Bernini was able to create such a life like scene.

On the eve of my departure I visited the Trevi Fountain, a must-see for anyone who visites Rome. I figured it was a big fountain but it was even bigger in real life (26 meters in height and 22 meters in width!). A lot of tourists like to throw coins into the fountain. In 2016 a stunning $1.5 million was thrown into the fountain. Tourism ladies and gents.

Pictures source: 

My Previous Post: Steemit

SteemSchool Community: Discord

Free Upvotes: SteemFollower (currently down) 

Check out my tutorials:

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Callmefib3r from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61399.80
ETH 2987.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42