Exploring Los Angeles County: Montebello, CA

in #travel7 years ago

Exploring Los Angeles without Diving Straight into Downtown L.A. 

Montebello, CA 

A little crevice in the heart of Los Angeles County: Montebello, CA is a gentle spot to tour before wandering into the depths of Downtown LA. Authentic to the core with a peak of diverse culture. Let’s take a stroll down together and let me tell you about the top places I love in this city. Places that will range from food and a bump of fashion. These places are spots I still come back to when I visit Los Angeles County.








  • Samurai Sushi & Teriyaki

137 N Montebello Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640

Price Range: $11 - $16
Attire: Casual
Wi-Fi: No
Accepts: Cash or Card
Public Restroom: No (Customers Only)

Forget Bambooze Sushi & Brewhouse Fusion in Whittier, CA. This place kicks Bambooze to the curb for a major time out. Samurai Sushi & Teriyaki in Montebello offers you great quality food that tastes great, has reasonably priced meals, and they are filled with epic portions. What person on a date night out wouldn’t love that? This place won't pinch your wallet but it definitely will leave your taste buds tingling with delight. I love Samurai Sushi & Teriyaki. I discovered this place thanks to an ex old childhood friend. Ever since 2013 I’ve been coming here for date nights, for a night out with friends, or to celebrate someone's birthday. 

I highly recommend the Monster Roll, Tempura Roll, Avocado Roll, and Tempura Ice Cream (in any flavor).  

Please note if you do not know how to use chopsticks (like me!) you can ask for chopstick helpers and they will provide them for free. 

  • The Daily Brew Coffee Bar




Price Range: $5 - $9
Attire: Casual
Environment: Community Friendly
*Hosts A Variety of Events (Open-Mic Night, Comedy Night, Board Game Night) Free to the Public
Wi-Fi: Yes
Accepts: Cash or Card
Public Restroom: No (Customers Only)

Fun Fact: They have a piano so if you know how to play one just ask and they will more than likely let you play it.



The Daily Brew Coffee Bar is a place that's heart is centered around community and community outreach. Very often they participate in Montebello Art Walks, Fundraisers for Non-Profit Organizations, or they host Open-Mic Nights where people share their comedy, poetry, music, or other talent. The owner and staff are very friendly. This is a great place to study, unwind with friends, or drop by on during an event night for free casual fun. I recommend their Almond Joy and Build Your Own Sandwich (Croissant is my choice of bread). Support community not corporate interests: forget Starbucks up the street from time to time. This place is a bedrock for teenagers to come to and get away from gang violence, drugs, and even time away from abusive homes. It's a safe place for everyone just be respectful and buy something (cookies are just two bucks) to have access to Wi-Fi.

  • Nevera Juice Bar 




Picture Taken by Nevera Juice Bar Montebello, CA

137 N Montebello Blvd # D, Montebello, CA 90640

Price Range: $5 - $8
Attire: Casual
Wi-Fi: No
Public Restroom: No (Employees Only)
Payment: Cash or Card
 

Their smoothies are the only ones I get when I'm in Montebello because they are the best in town. I hate the smoothie place at The Shops in the Montebello Mall (they don't properly wash their fruit/veggies and they are never fresh always frozen). Don't forget to ask for a stamp card if you purchase any item priced at $4.99 or more. This place is special because they offer wheat grass shots. That's AMAZING! For those of you in a need of a healthy choice this is your go-to not only for their wheat grass shots but wraps too. Also, quick tip did you know Pedialyte, wheat grass shots, and noodles (or miso soup) are great for hangovers? Get your Pedialyte at CVS, then walk down from CVS to Nevera Juice Bar, and then hop right into Samurai Sushi for some noodles. Ha-ha it honestly works. 

  • Frumento's Italian Deli (& Market)





Picture Taken by Frumento's Italian Deli

 214 W Beverly Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640 

Price Range: $8 - $30
Attire: Casual
Wi-Fi: No
Public Restrooms: No (Customers Only)
Payment: Cash or Card

O
h, I could only tell you how many Stromboli I have eaten, and never have I regretted any bite. If you're craving Italian come here. This is the spot in Montebello for the best Italian stuff you can get. Nothing proves how amazing this place is than it's being here since 1958. It's still kickin' and it's still worth any passerby's time. They also have Italian items for you to pick up to cook. Did I mention they cater too?





The amazing fashion boutique everyone should know about.
A perfect place to buy gifts for her.
A perfect place to doll yourself up for any occasion with the latest fashion trends. 







  • Rhapsodielle






806 W Beverly Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640
Price Range: $12 - $32
Wi-Fi: No
Public Restrooms: No (Employees Only)
Payment: Cash or Card

This place is a hidden treasure that's every women's personal fashion runway. The clothes are affordable for everyone even those on a budget. They offer plus size too! I'm telling you if you want clothes come here. Forget the Downtown L.A. Fashion District. All there stuff is way too overpriced in comparison to what you can find here. Not only that but the quality of material offered at Rhapsodielle is very high and rich. I've bought dresses from here two years ago. Even after all the washes they've gone through they still look the same like the day I bought them. Do you have any idea how hard that is to find: good material at affordable prices. It is so hard. Especially for women. The fashion industry does not want you to have durable clothing. This place will give you durable clothing if you know your material. You can get some thick cardigans here that will shock you for $12. They will keep you so warm and still look cute. Forget Forever 21 at the Shops in the Montebello Mall. Seriously. Thinking about Christmas gifts? Birthday gifts? For your girlfriend, sister, best friend, or mother? This is the place. Oh the shoes here are awesome and they have an amazing clearance rack. 



















That's it my fellow Steemians & friends. I hope you enjoyed this little tour with me on one of my favorite cities in Los Angeles County. Montebello holds a soft spot for me (my parents live there now too). If you enjoyed this I would appreciate a comment, an upvote, and a resteem. A tip wouldn't hurt either ;)
Sort:  

Hi love! Thank you so much for this post!! I love California... I was actually born in Mountain View, which is about a 45 min drive from SAN Fran. Loved your post. Loved the photos of fashion & food :) Best wishes to you!

Stephanie
Xox

Oh you traveling lady I would have never thought you were born in CA @soul.searching. Thank you for dropping by and for the love. I wanted to buy every dress LOL! Best wishes to you too darling xoxo Raquel

Yeah! It is quite funny because when people ask me, I always just tell them I am Canadian.... And then they say, “OH, so you were born in Canada?” But no, I was actually born in CA. I do think of myself as Canadian though.
Sorry I have been absent for a little while... Life kind of just got in the way. But I want you to know that I am still consistently following your blog and enjoying it very much <3

Take care!

Stephanie

This is a really great post. I am impressed at the level of useful detail that you provide - it is one thing to rattle off the same tired facts you can read on Wikipedia about a place, quite another to share the insider's tips on quality but affordable food and shopping. Really nicely written and formatted as well. Very happy to have found you, and following you now! Cheers - Carl

Thank you! Sorry for the delayed response my family caught the flu and we barely feel better today. I am glad you enjoyed the article. Thank you for visiting and reading.




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

@camposmusing I love Nevera! Thanks for sharing, I just posted a blog with some photos from Abbot Kinney Blvd. Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66