You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Guide: Central America

in #travel6 years ago

You are right when you say the food is generally awful. I have lived in Central America for the past 17 years. Coffee is always powdered unless you make it yourself. You can safely eat street food but you must know what to look for. I really enjoyed your post. Upvoted, following and resteemed.

Sort:  

Powdered coffee!!! Blasphemy!!! :-) I'm a coffee snob now that I have learned how to roast and grind green beans. Super cheap to buy here in Nicaragua. And I almost always cook at home. I get tired of paying tourist prices for tourist food.

And it's not even good tourist food. We always cook at home and food from our gardens and locally grown. We get our beans from a friend who has started a coffee business here in Nicaragua. Where are you located in Nicaragua. We are on the Pacific Ocean in the department of Leon.

San Juan del Sur mostly. Recently got a small farm on Ometepe so I'm back and forth a lot. It's not very far but the ferry ride across the lake is like crossing some kind of weird time/space barrier. It's like a different world on the island. Good to know steemit is sprouting here. I'm pretty sure I already follow you but will double check. All the best. fyi, I've started posting with a 'nicaragua' tag when appropriate. In case you want to help me populate that category.

Okay, thanks I will.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86