Explore with me : Florance - ITALY

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

5c47ea5f-f58d-466a-8be9-51d42b8ca971.jpg

Hello everyone!

On my third year in university I applied for Erasmus programme and studied in Bologna, Italy for 1 year. For a year I traveled in Europe. And I will try to post about the cities a visited that year as much as I can remember.

From Bologna, we traveled almost everywhere with train and with high speed train it took half an hour to Florance-Firenze. Naturally we spent quite some time in Florance.

e113f6bf-9fcd-4573-b91f-752443e04abe.jpg

The city -that is famous with the scientist and artists that lived there throughout the years- is a cultural, architectural and historical wonder. Everywhere you walk is worth seeing, but i will try to tell you about my trips and give you an idea on where to start.

One of the most important masterpieces in the city is The Duomo. Florence began construction on the cathedral in the 13th century, long before the Renaissance began.

6caa6e0e-4084-46ea-bb33-e6e66db3607c.jpg

IMG_0528.JPG

IMG_0546.JPG

If you don’t want to wait in line to enter this cathedral, I suggest you to buy your tickets online. If you want to climb to the top -which I strongly suggest since there is an amazing city view- there are 463 steps. I climbed them not once, not twice but three times!

e752f780-f3ff-4134-85dd-2ee0edcab415.jpg

cb959a5b-ca79-47a5-9818-b32dc187421d.jpg

One of the most famous bridges in the world is in Florence, Ponte Vecchio. It is located on Arno River and you can find many famous brand’s stores on this bridge. Though watching the bridge from a distance is very delighting, walking on it is something else, you feel as if you are in middle age Europe.

bb86f112-ccd0-4450-b14f-7dd0e00cb22d.jpg

b032ef8f-6b85-4e39-b642-965bb9459021.jpg

Signoria Square and Vecchio Palace is another must see location in Florance. In Signoria Square you can see works of arts belong to many artists including the imitation of Michelangelo’s David. There are many cafes and restaurants on the square which you can cool of on a summer day or get warm on winter.

8aa83161-2166-4ef1-818b-2f9890b01f19.jpg

8e3267b1-222e-4d17-9260-f7de7d7343a0.jpg

Another beautiful square is Republic Square with the carousel in it and the historical buildings around, there is amazing atmosphere. The square is pretty close the shopping area of the famous brands.

f966eb99-f1ee-4ee4-9375-73fd08479181.jpg

c1b62f11-df5b-4067-9559-508a3a1266dc.jpg

If you want to get away from the crowd and find a little piece and quiet, you should visit The Boboli and Bardini Gardens. This is a great secret of Florence. However, one of my biggest regrets now that I’m looking back, I don’t have a good picture of these places.

cd9d0616-8db8-44fc-9370-26ab9470d9ea.jpg

d52952f9-9335-49c3-bf34-bc274dd84819.jpg

I'm finishing my post with one of my favorite quotes;

“A man who has not been in Italy, is always conscious of an inferiority, from his not having seen what it is expected a man should see.” -Samuel Johnson

Sort:  

Stunning photos! Florence is so beautiful... i regret missing it last summer :(

Thank you, these photos are from 5 years ago. I am planning to take better ones this year :) I think going to touristic places on fall or winter makes it more enjoyable, less people more space :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 21:06:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.45/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=cerenselenapa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=explore-with-me-florance-italy


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Florance is a great historical city. Last year I had a chance to see Italy and after that I went to Switzerland to see Alps.

Oh that's great, I want to go to Alps for ski & snowboard.

I advice you to travel by bus from Milano to Zurich. It is the bus ride through the mountains. It has beautiful view. You can also check my last post and see some photos from Swiss Alps.

Oh great advice thank you. I will check your blog.

My Italian Love! I have been living there for a short period of time and can tell this place its absolutely stunning!!!

Yes it is. I loved living there! Thank you for commenting :)

Zalım insanlar yorum yapacağınıza upvote yapsanıza. Arada photofeed etkiketini kullanabilir misiniz?

Çok güldürdünüz beni, aynı isyan bende de var :D

photofeed i cok duydum ben de bi kac kez kullandim ama bakalim ise yarar belki :) selen ordan yuruyelim :*

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @galasek.

I was going to visit Italy last April, but couldn't make it and am sad about it too much :D I hope I'll be able to make it happen in this April :)

Kesinlikle gidilmeli, tavsiye ederim :)

Umarım önümüzdeki baharda :)

These are some beautiful shots. I will be going to Italy this year, and I can’t wait.

Thank you for your binformative and visually stunning post - I found you in the #steemsugars promo channel x

Oh thanks a lot :) i want to make the posts more detailed however this was 5 years ago 😊

Nice post and what a beautiful place, so much to take in!! I hope to go one day sooner than later.

Thank you:) Every city of Italy that I've been to is beautiful, but Florence is one of the most memorable one. You should definitely visit as soon as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60