After 22 years, I've finally learned how to swim! Thanks to my visit in the enchanting Guiwanon Spring ✨

in #travel6 years ago

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_151305.jpg

I've been traveling and going to places around the Philippines for quite some time now. I've seen the most beautiful beaches, the most jaw-dropping falls, and the most awesome springs. My experience with these beautiful gifts by mother nature is surely memorable however I can't deny that there's always something lacking. I've always felt like I haven't been able to experience her that much. There's something I've always wanted to do but I can't just because I'm afraid. There's always a frustration inside of me everytime I see a gorgeous body of water. And that's because I Can't Swim! Yes. I am a traveller and I love nature and waterfalls and beaches but I don't know how to swim. It's unbelievable but yes, it's true.

Growing up, there are only 2 things I fear most in life. First is that, I'm afraid of riding elevators. I know. As absurd as you might think, I freak out inside elevators. I panic. I can't handle the feeling that I'm boxed in and I feel very dizzy and can't stand it. I've feared elevators for 21 years. But since my job right now is situated in the 10th floor of the building, I have to overcome that fear. And eventually I was able to. Believe me or not, for 10 months I've taken the stairs from ground floor up to 10th and vice versa just because I don't want to take the elevator. But gradually I pushed myself to endure the elevator one floor at a time until I was able to overcome it. I remember the night when I've successfully taken the elevator from 10th to the ground and did not panic. That was one of the happiest days of my life! The feeling of finally getting rid of something that you've feared all your life is amaaaaazing! I've felt really alive. I can't forget that night.

And the other thing I've feared is drowning or swimming. I know it's a skill that I should have acquired back before when I was younger but I don't know. Maybe my parents just did not take me that much to the beach for me to be able to learn and that went on until I've come this age. I envy so much people who know how to swim because they are not afraid of deep waters and there are so many things they can do and enjoy. Now that I've overcome my fear of elevators, I can focus now on my dream of overcoming this other fear and finally learning how to swim.

And I was so lucky and blessed to have found someone who's willing to support me in this dream. My boyfriend @zanytourists is also a frequent traveller and is a great swimmer and diver. Slowly, he taught me the basics on how to survive in the water and have shown me step by step how I can progress in my swimming until I'm not afraid anymore.

First, he taught me how to do the backfloat.

(If ever you're tired with swimmimg and want to rest for a while then this is what you can do)

Second, he taught me how to tread in the water

(Like when you're in a deep part of the water where you can't reach thr ground anymore, this is what you do to stay afloat and keep your head above water)

And then third, he taught me how to swim and paddle so that I can move and maneuver

(I already got this but I'm still working on how to regularly get air but I know I'll get there).

And then of course, for me to be able to master all those, I have to practice regularly. And so everytime we go to the beach in Moalboal, I swim with him until we reach the deep part of the sea with the cliff (kantil) and before I used to have snorkel and lifejacket but eventually I'm able to swim without a lifejacket on now and I can swim on my own just with a snorkel on and eventually my fear of drowning has slowly lessened because I'm friends with water already. And so this time, because I'm learning how to swim, I get double-excited everytime there's an opportunity to go to somewhere with water because I'd like to test if I'm still afraid or not or if I can swim alone without assistance or not.


And so last weekend, Maui (@zanytourists) and I went to this spring up north of Cebu in Tabogon called Guiwanon Cold Spring. I've heard of this spring before from my friends who's able to go there and I've heard such amazing stories. They said that the waters are crystal clear and that its very peaceful. And I thought, why not visit it this time? It's perfect for my swimming lessons and I'm excited to finally see it for myself.

We drove at least 3 hours up north before arriving to our destination. And we are so lucky because, the day we decided to come is also the last day they are opening the Spring since the government will be renovating and beautifyng it and it'll be close until next year January! Like, how lucky can we get? If we visited a day after, then that would be too late. I thanked the stars that we're able to come on time!

And this is the view that greeted us.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_150754.jpg

Look at the color of that water! It is indeed crystal clear! You can even see the rocks that are in the bottom.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_150836.jpg

And in the middle of it is a giant and old Balete tree which I believe is the source of all these waters.

Maui and I did not hesitate and immediately changed our clothes and swam into the water. You can see the happiness in Maui's face in this picture when I asked him to pose for a photo.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_151231.jpg

We're even lucky that we're the only ones in the spring that time and so we're able to enjoy the serenity and the tranquility that it offers.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_151026.jpg

And then I went into the water. From this side of the spring alone, it's already very deep. I cant reach the rocks at the bottom. I became afraid at first but then I practiced my treading and paddling skills and I really did not expect it but I was able to reach the other side. Quite contented with what I did, I finally swam back and forth and by the moment my limbs were tired, I did the backfloat.

At that moment, I can't hide the smile in my face. I'm doing it! I'm not panicking. I'm swimming in deep waters. I'm moving and maneuvering. I'm not drowning. That's just one of the golden moments. Maui and I are too happy and absorbed with my little achievement to even take a photo of me. And then I wanted to try something else and so I started to jump into the water from the edges of the spring and after I jump, it's amazing how the water pushes me back up and I swim again! That's really one of the best feelings. And then I've realized, this is it! After 22 years, I've finally learned how to swim! I'm not afraid anymore of deep waters and to jump into them and most importantly, I'm not afraid nof drowning. And upon realizing that, I can't stop the smile from forming in my face.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_151412.jpg

That moment was just too precious. I feel like I can do anything now since I've overcome the 2 things I fear most in life. And that's all because of this guy, who's been with me in every step of this journey. Thank you, Maui.

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_151458.jpg

Another realization, nothing is ever too late in life. It's not too late to learn something or try something new. Take it from me who've finally learned how to swim after 22 years. Nothing really is impossible as long as you persevere.


Thank you for dropping by, Steemians. And I'm sorry it took me a while to write again. I think you already know what I have been doing. Until next time! 🌻✨

Sort:  
Hello Bhesssy :)

Congratulations @chastityy110 your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Chaste take me there. Please. Hahahaha. Please blog about its location and on how to get there. 😭😭😭

Halaaa haha bitaw duul ra nis Medellin. Yes woll do. Or Pm ko nimo.

Hahahaha thanks mar! Mag-canyoneering jud ko balik.

Congrats!

Your post has been featured on @bayanihan's curation initiative - giving a 100% upvote. We aim to motivate deserving Filipino authors by giving them the right value of rewards.

Adtoon nya ko ni! kalami sa tubig tan.awn oi. hehe

Yes! Barato ra kaayo entrance! 😁


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratiulations for finally learning to swim! You may be so proud of yourself, and of course of your boyfriend. But you did it yourself! To overcome these fears is so incredibly good. And then swimming in such beautiful places is the biggest reward there is. Enjoy what you have achieved, and I enjoy your beautiful pictures.

Maka relate ko sa feelingna gusto kaayo mo dive sa nindot kaayo nga tubig, but can't cause dili kaayo ko kabalo mo swim. But now, I am slowly overcoming my fear and take the chance to improve my swimming skills. Great job, @chastityyy110! 😘

Yess! Nothing really is impossible. Talawan kaayo kog lawm sauna but na-conquer ra gyud. As long as ganahan jud ka makat-on, makuha ra gyud. Dasig lang. Hehe. You can make it too! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93