San Juan, La Union, Philippines (Top 5 Places in the Philippines, 1/5)

in #travel7 years ago

sanjuan1.jpg
Sunset at the beach

After coming back to the States post-Peace Corps, people often ask me for travel suggestions if they're planning a trip to the Philippines, so I’m going to post a five-part series of my favorite places in the Philippines based on the two years I lived there. This is the first post in that series.

San Juan: The place to surf all day and dance all night

San Juan is a fun beach town in the province of La Union. It was only three hours away from my site and one of my Peace Corps friends lived in the area, so I would occasionally visit for a short getaway. San Juan is known as THE place to go for surfing in Luzon (the island Manila is located on). If you’re coming from Manila, it’s about six hours by bus.

sanjuan2.jpg
Good waves for beginners, but also good enough for surf competitions

Sometimes a bunch of us Peace Corps Volunteers (PCVs) would gather and since we were tight on cash, we would cram into a hotel room. I would definitely recommend getting a place by the beach if you want to stay out late, so you can easily walk to and from the beach. Accommodations range from nice houses with private pools to rooms that are real cheap and a bit sketchy. I camped once in a tent, but it got quite hot once the sun was out and my flip-flops (which I left outside of the tent) got stolen, so I don't really recommend camping.

sanjuan3.jpg
A group of PCVs cramming into one hotel room

San Juan often hosts surf competitions followed by dance parties at night with live DJs right on the beach. In the daytime, you can rent a surfboard and take lessons (most affordable surfing lessons I've ever taken), or just lounge around, relax, and drink coconut water straight from a coconut (so refreshing!). The locals are super friendly and chill, and there are also lots of backpackers that come through that area, so if you're traveling through, you'll likely make some new friends!

sanjuan4.jpg
Relaxing with two of my PCV friends on the beach

Part of why San Juan made it on to my "Top 5 favorite places in the Philippines" is because of all the great memories I’ve had there, but if you like to surf or party (or both), I’m pretty sure you’ll make some great memories there yourself!

Sort:  

This country is on my list. ( of future travel). Hope, one day

Awesome! I'll be sharing four other spots I really like, so stay tuned :)

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

take a look: https://steemit.com/

I second that.

Following you too now. "nature is bae" haha, I like that

Following you now :)

Congratulations @chernern! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing your great experience, appreciate it so much. Happy Steeming!

Thanks for reading!

You're welcome

Thank you for sharing your great experience, appreciate it so much. Happy Steeming!

Thank you for reading!

You're welcome!

Wow, very nice. How is the news there? How does it feel? The media makes it out to be dangerous from the terrorism and rebels, but everyone looks happy in the pictures. My wife is nervous. We hope to move to philippines next year.

Thanks! I no longer live there, but I've spoken with my friends who are there and they seem to be ok despite the political climate that is portrayed in the news. What part of the PH are you thinking of moving to?

I absolutely love the PI. While I am partial because my fiancée lives there, I still enjoy new places. If you're a backpacker have you looked into Camiguin island yet? For beaches maybe you could consider Palawan.

Regardless thanks for the photos and insight. It might be on a future destination!

How did you like it there?

Would you want to live there if you could?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68308.81
ETH 3883.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71