A Hidden Gem in the Riviera Maya, Mexico, Xpu Ha Beach at it's Southern End Can Be All Yours...and it's Minutes Away from the Resorts

in #travel6 years ago

travel mexico.jpg

"I'm freaking Dora the Explorer, Man!", I say to my ever so patient husband, as if this validates my request to leave the comfort of our resort and venture off to an interesting, and unpopulated, spot on the beach that has peaked my interest.

Justin, my husband of 8 years, is a rather orderly man, content to enjoy the luxury and serenity of an all inclusive resort but he indulges me often on my hunt to find new places. I am the helium balloon and he is the weight, keeping me safe and tethered as I wander about.

He agrees to go along and we head South, along the beach, from Catalonia Royal Tulum.

xpuha travel adventure.jpg

Passing the KSM Beach Club (which I highly recommend...amazing people!), civilization quickly falls away and you are left with a beach all to yourself. The jungle comes right up to the sand and rock and the water is alive with small fish, corals and anemone. It's rather rocky but thats part of the beauty. If you are a nature lover, like me, you can get lost in the details for hours! Just a tip: Take some water and ocean friendly sunscreen because you wont find it out here!

xpuha tulum mexico beach.jpg

You will find pools of little fish and crabs... little outdoor aquariums, if you will.

xpuha snorkeling diving.jpg

There is an abandoned resort in the jungle, we were told by two French divers (two of the only three humans we came across ALL day!) and I will share those details with you in a future post. We did heed their advice to not drift into the jungle too far, mostly because of potential unsavory types who might be inhabiting the hotel but also because I'm not a good fit for "Mexico jail" so I know my limitations 😏

xpuha tropical beach paradise.jpg

Climbing up to the peak can be quite rocky but it's totally worth it! The brain coral (pictured below) is my favorite. The symmetry and geometry in coral formations just takes my breath away!

playa del carmen day trip.jpg

With only one young local boy out on the water and not a soul on our beach, we took advantage of the flaw-forgiving golden hour light and snapped a few pictures (I loved this picture because that soft rosy glow captured an image, not unlike the rose colored glasses of a smitten lover and I was pleased. As a 42 year old mother of three, I dont get that lucky a shot too often! 😂

xpuha riviera maya beach destination.jpg

We ended the day just to return again several times during our visit. Do you like to go off the beaten path when you vacation? If so, I cant recommend Xpu Ha Beach, in the Riviera Maya enough!

xpuha (1).jpg

If you arent staying at Catalonia Royal Tulum (or one of the other small hotels in the area), you can get here easily from Tulum or Playa del Carmen by car or collectivo. Let me know if you check it out or if you've been here before! It's my favorite 😍

Riviera Maya Travel.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cristinamuah to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68880.27
ETH 3763.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43