An Unexpected Fuel Leak

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

6f6f9e86-a359-4c44-bff4-781e56da37f8.jpeg


A Fuel Leak

Just a few days after arriving in Ohio, it is time to make another repair. The trip was a short 520 miles, and this leak didn't effect any of the driving. We found the fuel was leaking on our generator.

When we were in Missouri it had been pretty hot, and very humid. We decided to run the generator and kick on the air conditioner to help cool The Big Woo down. All went perfect, except for when we went to bed. As we cuddled into our over sized bed, we could smell gas. Not exhaust, but unused raw gasoline.

This led me on a bit of a quest, because the leak wasn't obvious. It turns out that the previous owner had made some repairs, but seemed to cause more damage along the way. I found gas starting to drip from the fuel line that connects to the brand new fuel pump.

Now in Ohio, it is time to fix it. It looks like it had been replaced in a hurry, and not using the correct tools. The fittings at the edge of the fuel line had been rounded off. Where they should have used a wrench, the edges were all rolled over. I had to use a combination of various tools and some Yeti strength to get it off.

I was able to find the material that I needed at Autozone. I ended up buying a 20" piece of coated steel. My fuel line is only 15", so I had to cut the line, make the bends, and flare the end.

I have never done this before, so I got a chance to learn a new skill. I was able to get the right tools, and make it happen. I used a pipe flaring kit, and a pipe cutter.

I got the new ends flared.

I also used some thread sealer on the new fittings to ensure that it wouldn't leak anymore. I did all of this work with the help of our son, The Inventor. His energy is awesome, and keeps me feeling good. He was able to learn something new, and even got to bond a bit.

It has been a wonderful time on the road so far. I praise Jesus for the opportunity to live free. Free from darkness and the bondage of modern society. I look forward to the many experiences we will have in the future. Until then.....we will see you a little further down the road.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Great work man. Congrats.

Thanks man! I have to do it, self reliance! 😀

what is thi starter crookedroadhome ji

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82