Travel | Surfing in Baler, Philippines

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I first felt the force of the waves as it slammed against the board. Then my face. Each collision seemed to lift my body. And for a split second, it felt like I was flying.

View of Sabang Beach in Baler, Aurora

The late afternoon brought with it a dim sky and cold, strong winds. Sabang Beach in Baler, Aurora was looking gloomy. Walking towards the sea, my friends and I already saw heads, arms, and boards constantly jutting out of the water. Those people were already attempting to do what we were about to do: surf.

It was my first time.

I didn’t know what to expect, except that it wasn’t going to be easy. Like any sport, I knew practice was the key to ride the waves successfully.

Soon enough I would know that for surfing, balance was just as important.

My first few attempts consisted of a lot of flailing, gasping for air, and getting slammed by both the waves and my own surfboard. I had my own guide whom I felt sorry for because I was probably looking hopeless as I tried to surf in vain.

From kneeling and crouching on the board, I started getting the hang of it. I could almost hear and feel the waves just as they started lifting my board. And before I knew it, I was actually standing! But it ended as quickly as it came, because the next second I found myself back underwater.

That's how it was for the rest of the time. Most of the time, I would jump or fall back to the sea almost but not really frustrated with myself. But sometimes -- perhaps once, or twice, or at least a number below than what my fingers can count -- I actually surfed and rode the waves.

Too soon, my other friends were on the shore already signaling to me that the hour was up. How time flew! Just when I was starting to get the hang of it, the sun was already coming down and we had to go.

The next day, my whole body was sore as if it were beaten up badly. Brushing my teeth, brushing my hair, or simply any movement that needed my arms was quite painful. Despite those nuisances, I still consider my experience worth whatever soreness or pain because I knew surfing was something I would do again.

Me with my surfboard

Have you tried surfing before? Or perhaps it’s your hobby? I’d definitely love to hear about your experiences!

If you liked this post, feel free to upvote, comment, and follow! <3

Photos taken by me using my iPhone 6S

Sort:  

I really would like to try out surfing some time!!!!!! It sounds hard but worth it! Hope you will learn it soon and have a lot of fun with it!

Yes, surfing should definitely be part of your bucket list! It's not easy but once you get the hang of it, every ride will be so fulfilling! I hope to surf again if I go to other places! I hope you get to try it soon as well!

Now I only have to book a ticket to the ocean and buy or rent me a surf board ^^
I hope so too, for you and for me! Must be an unforgettable experience!

Yeah, my friends and I also considered renting a surfboard so we can take advantage of the waves while we're still there! Maybe next time, we will!

Hi..if those are your images, acknowledge them and specify on what camera you have used.
@surfermarly is almost a pro that u can follow, she have this @dreamoftheocean project. @creatr was a pro 😁..pardon creatr🤣🤣

Hello! Yes, those are my photos taken from my phone. Will edit and update my post! :) And thank you for referring them, I'll definitely check them out! <3

Thea, great piece! I just love the way you write. I never tried surfing, but it's definitely on my bucket list. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Thank you so much, Nora! Yes, it's really worth experiencing! You won't regret it!

Congratulations @cruziana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! I've been to Baler too and tried surfing. I loved it! If it's just near my place I would be there every weekend. 😊

Awesome! Glad to hear that you also enjoyed surfing in Baler! And I definitely agree with you. If it weren't six hours away from where I live, I'd go there every weekend!

PHILIPPINES ALL DAY ERRRDAYYY!!! Hey folllow back sister.

lovemyfollowers.jpg

Yes, there's a lot to see and discover in the Philippines!

hai @cruziana visit my account pls. @basir92

I have always found surfing to be a balancing energy in my life. Sounds like for your first time you really got the hang of it, hope you keep it up and write more about it. Love to see your beach photos from the Philippines too!

Awesome! You surf regularly? There are only a number of "good" surfing spots here in the Philippines, and I'm hoping to try them all. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68