7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday #19 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #travel6 years ago

WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged - HELPING TO STOP PLAGIARISM ON STEEMIT


Hello fellow Steemians!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday - where the winner of the weekly round will be able to participate for the total of 200 SBD! Today, you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to the continent of Europe.

shutterstock_639858676.jpg
Night view of Rome Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi) in Rome, Italy. Source: Shutterstock, author: Catarina Belova

Your entries need to be submitted by the midnight of Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words. Only use of personal images will be accepted and only one picture can be submitted for a daily photo challenge. Ten winning photos will receive a bigger upvote from me and ten runners-up will get a smaller one.

Chosen from the ten winning entries, the absolute winner of the day will receive extended publicity in my post tomorrow morning. I will also visit his/her blog to upvote one of the most recent posts. The winning picture of the daily challenge will then automatically enter other rounds with the absolute winner gaining approximately 200 SBD in total.

Please see the winners of the previous contests of the week and give them your support if you like their images to be the one winning the weekly price and entering the other stages of the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge. You can vote for them by upvoting his winner announcement posts below:

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Asian Sunday #19 – winner announcement!

@rinawonderlans Asian Sunday entry:

I woke up to see a sunrise,and luckily there is also a little rainbow over the sky, which is rare to see here. It's beautiful eventhought it's not a full one. The colorful sky, give a reflection color to the sea and sand. I took this pretty picture in Candidasa beach, a relaxed spot on the east Bali where you could snorkel.

DQmYx43bmf2rRLvvAitRJ8h1iSaCLeonuaZGzemywTaGGWi.jfif
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Australian Monday week #19 – winner announcement!

@vinceboisgard Australian Monday entry:

Queenstown is a cute little town located on the south island of New Zealand. It build on the raffle of a gigantic lake and surrounded by the mountains. Here is a capture I shot while wandering around the lake. This man was sitting on the small pierre, chilling by the water under the branches of the tree. I wasn't going to Disturbed, so I waited patiently for him to stand up and leave!

U5dtJBtVqMBdaxaVXgGxHt2qyxcfWu9_1680x8400.jfif
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Tuesday of Antarctica and world´s oceans #19 – winner announcement!

@intrepidphotos Tuesday of Antarctica and world´s oceans entry:

Sometimes, if only for a moment, time seems to stand still. It’s amazing to think that 91% of the iceberg is hidden under the water. Iceberg floating of the coast of South East Alaska. It’s a single hand held exposure taken from a moving boat.

U5drzuYwZ1tsxvFGRCsYzeXVSBc4nSf_1680x8400.jfif
Click on the image for full view

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – African Wednesday #19 – winner announcement!

@mibreit-photo African Wednesday entry:

This is maybe the most photographed rock on La Digue. It looks like the back of an ancient animal in the sand of Anse Source D'Argent. It was really peaceful there in the evening when most of the day visitors left and people went off for dinner. If you don't fear the huge crabs that roam the beach and rocks after sunset, it's worth to stay :-)

U5dsg4ZmCs7acQoEFhH5BFJmcND6jVD_1680x8400.jfif
Click on the image for full view

PLEASE MAKE SURE TO READ THE UPDATES OF RULES AND CONDITIONS OF THE PHOTO CHALLENGE BELOW. ONLY THE BEST 20 ENTRIES OF THE DAY WILL GET AN UVPOTE.

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and conditions see my original post: 200 SBD 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - 2018 guidelines: 22/1 update


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Karlovy Vary, world-famous spa town that has something for everybody

Steemit reached 700,000+ accounts & Steem named one of TOP 3 cryptos by Investopedia!

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #18 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!

Travel Tip: Prague Zoo, one of the top rated zoos in the world and a Prague must-see


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

I've submitted more dramatic photos from this place, but I love the simple serenity of this one. This is Ålesund, a sea port town in Western Norway. This is so far north that even in June (when I visited in 2016), the high temps were only 55-60F (13-15C). But the natural beauty here rivals just about anywhere else I've seen. And seeing the sun set close to midnight really is pretty wild.
norway.JPG

Pisturesque. Definitely can image living in a place like this :) Far away from all the hustle and bustle.

In simplicity lies its beauty! What a wonderful place. Tomas

Dresden Academy of Fine Arts

A photo from our trip to Dresden back in 2015. This city is pack with incredible buildings from different time periods and architectual styles. Tis photo was taken from the Augustus Bridge and shows the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts along the river Elbe.

steemit justdentist contest europe week 19.jpg

What a great entry! Thank you so much for you submission. Tomas

Thank you Tomas! It's always fun to participate and connect with the others:)

I shot this one in the village of Kinderdijk in the south of the Netherlands. This place is best known for its 19 iconic 18th-century windmills. I waited till sunset when everything was closed, and this beautiful waterway and the windmills were bathing in the golden rays.
87697EBB-24B0-43CA-B748-E101F0B27876.jpeg

Beautiful pic @itchyfeetdonica :) i missed this place! instead i went to Zaanse Schans for the windmills. Nice place also

Thank you! Yes I'd love to visit Zaanse Schans! =)

I love Kinderdijk!! Sadly the day I was there the sky was very overcast and flat but I still love my photos from there. However, yours is soon much better than mine is! Gorgeous shot!

Thanks Matt! :) It's common that you got that kind of weather there. I was really lucky that day!

Postcard shot! :))) Beautiful.

Wow, what a beautiful photo!

The reflection and colour is beautiful! I want to go there!

Go go go... ;) You will make it sooner or later.

I think you have a winner here, @itchyfeetdonica!

Thanks Derek! There are so many amazing shots here, and mine is not the best. :)

Alright, I should ask you for opinion next time! ;) Just saw your win on the North America one, congrats! =)

Well, I didn't think mine would win, but I had a good feeling about yours! :)

Oh - and good luck in the weekly vote! :)

Wow, what a beautiful image! Thank you so much for sharing and your continued support! Tomas

My pleasure, Tomas. I'm having so much fun joining your challenges! :D

My entry is below. It is winter in Europe now. I shot this a couple of weeks ago. I did not expected much from very foggy morning, but since I was on location I patiently waited for a sunrise. I got back home with only about 15 photos and very disappointed of weather conditions, but as I shoot almost all my landscapes to uncompressed RAW and at ISO64 for maximum DR, I managed to extract as much as I could in post and result turned out to be amazing in my opinion. What do You think?

Thank you for submitting this bautiful shot. Stunning image. Tomas

Yes it’s indeed amazing! I love the hues and the texture of the snow and branches.

Thanks! Needed to play with vibrance, clarity and contrast settings to achieve that sweet spot.

nice contrast of the snow & the sun :) @perfectsense

@rinawonderlands yeah, I always loved that contrast of cold snow and warm sun. That is why I love sunny days in winter, however there not many of those...

Klaipeda's Old Town is notable among other towns in Lithuania for its abundance of German and Scandinavian architecture. Klaipeda's Old Town is unique with its fachwerk architectural style and the planned street structure, which is uncharacteristic to any other old town in Lithuania. Its streets are geometrically configured very correctly, and the angle of intersection is always straight.

The series of summer night photos from Klaipeda old town (yachts port) made while ago: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@axeman/night-lights-of-the-old-town

Thank you for your great entry! Kindly stay tuned for the winner announcement coming later on today. Tomas

DSC09780.jpg

Two hours drive out of Tromso, Norway. It was past mid-night. We had been in the freezing cold for 3 hours, and yet there was no sign of what we seek. We were ready to call it a night. Suddenly someone shouted, "Look, it's here!" . We looked up, and there it was, a strong northern light display, moving in the sky like a green coloured wind. I quickly set up my tripod and captured this picture.

Beautiful photo! I like the simplicity in composition. And, of course, the colors! :)

That is something on my list of things to see! Great job capturing the northern lights. Tomas

Thanks! I am glad you liked it! Thanks for organising this competition, there is a lot of good work around!

Beautiful photo and description! I like how you told us the story of getting this shot. =)

La Pedrera, Barcelona

Barcelona has some stunning architecture, most of all by the citie's most famous architect, Gaudí. This building is called La Pedrera and seems more like a sculpture than a builing, especially the roof terreace is spectacular.

01-jpp-20140422.jpg
Click on image to enlarge

Barcelona!! I hope to go back and visit some more. Great photo!

Thanks! Barcelona is such a beautiful city.

Barcelona is one of my favourite cities in Europe! Thank you for sharing. Tomas

I feel like if Barcelona and Prague had a competition for the best architecture in Europe it would be a pretty tough race! I also love Barcelona.

Monsaraz.jpg

An incredibly beautiful view of the sunset on the horizon, photographed from the narrow medieval alleyways of Monsaraz, a centenary village located in the Alentejo region, southern Portugal.

That is a stunning image. Thank you so much for your submission. Tomas

Thanks Tomas!
Cheers

Here's my entry for 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - European Thursday

versailles rinawonderlands.jpg

The majestic Neptune statue on the Water Parterre in Palace of Versailles, France. This was one of the best sunset i ever saw in my lifetime. It's so beautiful. The sun was so big, perfectly round and the color was so vibrant. I really love how orange was the sky , and then it got reflected on the water fountain as well. This is one of the highlight on my last Europe trip. Hope you Steemians like it as much as i do :) Cheers and Good luck to you all .

Just like a postcard shot! Great job. Tomas

Thanks Tomas 🙏 , im glad you like it 😊

Evening on Geirangerfjord

Evening over Geirangerfjord_DSC3689-HDR_1000px.jpg

We were diving up the Ornevegen road over amazing Geiranger Fjord. The higher we were going up, the more breathtaking the landscape we saw. Soon the intense sunrays made their way between the mountains. I couldn't move further and stopped at the first site. The cruise ship appeared just in time letting me to show the scale of the fjord and the mountains.

https://steemit.com/photography/@dmytrokorol/evening-on-geirangerfjord

This is absolutely amazing!

Just stunning! Superb image!

Thank you Tomas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58