Quote of the day: "Live your life by a compass not a clock.”

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

With the weekend being over soon and the new week ahead of us, let me take this moment to share one of my favorite travel quotes with you.

1771895-Stephen-R-Covey-Quote-Live-your-life-by-a-compass-not-a-clock.jpg
Source: quotefancy.com, author: Stephen Covey, American educator, author, businessman, and motivational speaker


"Live your life by a compass not a clock."


What is your opinion on this interesting quote, my fellow Steemians? I think, with all the modern technologies, few travelers really use the compass these days but the message of the quote is clear I suppose. How would you describe your life from this point of view? Do you live it by a clock or something else?

Let me know in the comments below, I am looking forward to your stories :)

Have a great start to the new week and Steem on!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Czech Republic commemorating the 73 anniversary of the Prague Uprising

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

ColorChallenge - Indigo Saturday - @stabilowl in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Saturday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Clock life only make you punctual and disciplined. It doesn't give you any direction all you have to do is just follow your routine and routine life make you bore. Boring life ultimately ceased your creativity and you feel a little charm in life. Clock life is just like let life happen to you.Man is a social animal and life is not a name of punctuality. Instead life should be a mixture of punctuality, creativity, happiness and success. Compass life doesn't depend upon time only. it give you direction, new destination and journey. You gain a lot of knowledge during journey. So compass life is far better than clock life.

The compass allows you to make your own creative decisions regarding your path in life. Following the clock like you said will only make you punctual and disciplined, good traits for sure, but only traits. The compass awards the freedom of exploration and discovery. Well said!

Nicely said! I couldn´t agree more. Hope you go by that rule as well:).......

I carry a Rose of the Winds tattooed to my arm, so I can say I live by the compass.
I live thinking about going forward, seeking for better winds and adventures, but with the certainty that I have my secure port back at home. I can go, knowing that I'll not get lost. Time? That doesn't matter.

Thank you for the quote, I love it.

A lot of people are afraid to branch off without a support waiting for them. I understand the feeling but you have to be willing to take the first step and see where it leads. Even if you fail you will have grown and therefore succeeded.

You know, your comment came in the right time for me. Specially when you say

you have to be willing to take the first step and see where it leads. Even if you fail you will have grown and therefore succeeded.
I'm at this moment fighting a self resistance as to live in a sailboat or not. I'm usually quite confident in my decisions, but when it envolves selling some of my belongs to fulfil what I want I kinda block myself. Guess I should just go for it.

I'll leave a quote by my favourite brazilian writer and sailor

"A man needs to travel. By his own means, not by stories, images, books or TV. By his own, with his eyes and feet, to understand what he is. To some day plant his own trees and give them some value. To know the cold to enjoy the heat. To feel the distance and lack of shelter to be well under his own ceiling. A man needs to travel to places he doesn't know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or may be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have never seen, when we should just be learners, and simply go see it." - Amyr Klink

That is very important, at least for me..... to have a secure place to go back to... It is great to live by the compass rule, I do love it myself but I do need to have a place to go back to:)

@czechglobalhosts, That would be most stronger traveling quote. With your brilliant suggestions every your followed steemians have big dream to traveling. Travel experience given massive relaxation and It will helpful for increase our healthy.

Live your life by a compass not a clock.

Exactly look at this. What a brilliant meaningful quote. It's very dangerous to live by a clock. Lot of personas using clocks on the hand and for habit they automatically seen clock time. I'm also using it and automatically did my eyes. Then our nervous system given message to brain time is over and don't do any task after finishing my work. It's indeed for every task. If you're hiking or climbing mountains time more important and don't keep fixed time for your travel tasks. Every seconds think very near try to finish. In fact I change it live your life with your positive thoughts without waste valuable time.

Yep! However, as much as I do like to live by the compass rule myself, it is necessary to have the clock switched on most of the time in order not to get lost:).... Oh well, that is just myself:)....

Great post.Really loved the amazing words and that is a really brilliant quotation. We aren't the clock because we don't do same thing again and again in life but we are compass which always is free.When we are free to do something we are compass which takes some time to show but we will reach the goals we want to reach.If you want to be free and live happy with a smile in our face be compass free of everything .Life is about mistake, we will make it but we should learn from it.Thanks for amazing qoutation.@czechglobalhosts

You would be surprised how many people are like a clock. Actually, I think it is the vast majority of people. Doing the same thing over and over again, finding their comfort zone and not even willing to make a move to the right or left.

Oh that life is not what once want to have. People should get out of their comfort zone so they can face the real hardship and then get the success that they were waiting for.Yeah, i little surprise about to as who do the same thing again and again.

I think there is nothing better than knowing where you want to go and having defined your goals and purposes always enjoying and living every moment without losing your north. The one that lives pending of the time only ages without living, the one that enjoys every moment has lived.

I think this phrase tells us that many times we are thinking about time and not about enjoying life. I think we should forget a little of all the hours that the clock shows, connect with our inner compass and think if we are on the path that leads us to our destination. Also focus on our objectives and have a fixed north. On the other hand, modern technology has changed the use of compasses in travelers by GPS.

If you're walking on a compass, you should make sure it points the right direction. And the right direction it shows when it is not affected by any extraneous magnetic field. It's the same with your heart. Don't let outsiders influence it, don't let it deviate from the right course. In this you can help spiritual education. It helps you listen to yourself and follow your path. But for this purpose it is necessary to be constantly spiritually enriched. In this always helps literature, philosophy, reflections, religion, art and much else. Mind is an integral part of our spiritual life, but only by following our heart can harmony be achieved. Others ' opinion often knocks us off the road, but in our own lives we are our own masters. Maybe someone has made more living by someone else's tips, but you can never be really happy going against yourself.

Laser light focus is an approach to touch your defined point in terms of success. Those who live their lives with laser light focus, then time span does not bother their way to achieve those milestones. Nobody is the in-charge of your life rather you yourself is an in charge of your life. This way choice gets freedom and life become fruitful.

I had never heard that expression and I was really surprised at the depth of the message in so few words. We live permanently subjected to the slavitude of the hour, and many times we give more importance to the time than to our objectives, to the direction that we must take correctly. We must know where we are going rather than worry about the time and the time, take firm steps no matter if they are slow or fast, the most important thing is that they lead us to achieve our goals.
Let's enjoy more the sunrise, the sunset, the moms, and our family without looking so much at the time that is consumed in those activities that strengthen us spirit and fill us with energy.
I congratulate you for your publications that are truly wonderful. A greeting from Venezuela.

Upvote for a great thought. Would answer on your question but I just don't have time now ;)

LOL, that is a good one:)... You could use the compass:)......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71