Travel Tip: Dresden, one of most beautiful German cities with interesting history

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, however, I will make a little exception as I will take you to a place that is located just outside the Czech borders, the beautiful German city of Dresden.

dresden-906302_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

Found in the German state of Saxony (just some 30 km/19 mi from the Czech-German border), Dresden is an important historic city whose origin dates back to the 12th century when it was founded by Slavic tribes.

Home to more than half a million people, Dresden used to be known as the “jewel box” due to an abundance of impressive Baroque and Rococo architecture but ufortunately, the historic center of the city and all of its architectural jewels were completely destroyed during the controversial American and British bombing during the Second World War.

dresden-2246238_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

However, some parts of the historic center were successfully restored after the war, including some of the most famous landmarks such as the Dresden Cathedral and the Zwinger Palace.

Home to world-famous art collections, museums and musical ensembles, Dresden is now one of the most visited cities in Germany with almost 4.5 million overnight stays per year.

1280px-Striezelmarkt_2009_00950.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

The city is known to organize one of the most popular Christmas markets in Europe and it also boasts spectacular natural surroundings as it is situated very close to the National Park of Saxon Switzerland, the Ore Mountains and the picturesque countryside of the Elbe Valley.

Dresden is easily reachable from Prague by car (and even by a cruise ship), making it a great day-trip destination from the Czech capital.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Quote of the day: Traveling leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @intrepidphotos in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

Prague is a great base for all low-cost travelers who want to visit other European countries!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Such a great post and a really beautiful city. We did take the train from Dresden to Prague, which is quite a scenic train ride.

Here is are three great photos from our visit of Dresden:

steemit justdentist contest europe week 10.jpg

steemit justdentist contest europe week 11.jpg

steemit justdentist contest europe week 19.jpg

You are the STAR, my friend! Some of those pics are very familiar to me:)... I am very happy to see you posting them here in the support of my post! Thanks ever so much!

You are the STAR for putting so much effort into Steemit! I regret I didn't buy more Steem back for 10 Cents and put way more money into it. It's fun, a great investment and you meet people from all over the place. Also I can share my passion for photography and dentistry without a lot of haters posting stupid stuff!

Perfect timing! I am currently trying to put a trip together out to Germany and I came across Dresden. Thanks for this article !

Excellent! The power of Steemit:)....

We were in Dresden last summer. It is in my opinion one of the best cities to visit in Germany, because it has a lot to offer: the culture, the people, the activities and the facilities. You feel that the city is alive!

Something I enjoyed a lot was the view from the Elbe to the city center.
IMG_20170827_183303.jpg

Great pic! Thank you for sharing with all of us. Tomas

thanks @czechglobalhosts !
I love the architecture of the buildings in Germany.

"Home to more than half a million people, Dresden used to be known as the “jewel box” due to an abundance of impressive Baroque and Rococo architecture but ufortunately, the historic center of the city and all of its architectural jewels were completely destroyed during the controversial American and British bombing during the Second World War. "

Thank you so much for some additional information! Truly appreciated. Have a good one. Tomas

Your page is brilliant and really helpful. We are planning a trip to Czech Republic and are planning on doing the touristy stuff in Prague. The more i read your posts the more I am learning about the country. Dresden looks brilliant

Thank you so much for your feedback! That really makes me happy you do find it useful for your future trip! Have a good one. Tomas

Keep up the good work 😃

I'll be visiting Germany in a few months! Not sure Dresden is on our stop-list, but I think we'll be around there. :)

Sounds great, have fun. You might want to consider visiting Prague for a couple of days or so since it is really close:)... Have a good one.

I just double checked the map. We're going to be driving from Frankfurt down and around the southern half of Germany, touching Switzerland and Leichtenstein...so won't be anywhere near Dresden. Maybe next time!

Good post, Czech Republic is a beautiful country. I had the opportunity to live a year in the Czech Republic for a student exchange, in love with its people and culture.😍😍

Check my daily photo sharing challenge of images taken in Prague/Czech Republic if you have some good clicks... It is a daily challenge where I upvote entries of other Steemians for sharing their images and stories from my homeland. Hope to see you there:)... Have a great night. Tomas

Loading...

Those are cool pics !! I like the Czech Republic.... It is a very touristic country
thanks for sharing


3d-fonts

Indeed very beautiful

beautiful scenery .
very nice your photo.

I really like the czech
I really idolize a czech soccer player.
peter cech.
this is a very enjoyable tour

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66