Mismatched Travel Diaries - Bavaria - Hiking Konigsee - Part 1: Das Boot.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Over the weekend, I went offline and into nature. I spent Saturday to Monday hiking various trails around Koniggsee or King's Lake in the Southern region of Bavaria. This lake is by no means the biggest in Bavaria but the steep rock faces on either side make you feel tiny.

IMG_8870.JPG

Click Image To Enlarge

We arrived in the mid-morning and filled our packs and headed out for they day. First part of the day was to take a boat ride down the 7-kilometre lake to one of the huts located at the start of an easy hike. This boat ride was nothing short of spectacular. The loud boat of 70-or-so tourists was silenced by the sheer scale, once we made it around the bend at the beginning and into the lake proper.

IMG_8838.JPG

The electric powered boats seemed to amplify the silence as they cruised noiselessly along the flat water.

IMG_8885.JPG

Our first stop along the lake was a huge bare rock face, where the tour guide stopped, pulled out a well-used trumpet, and played toward the wall to show the echoing effect. He played for about a minute or so, stopping after each small section for us to hear the wall refrain his song back to him. I thought about filming it, like many of the other passengers, but I opted to enjoy the spectacle for myself rather than fiddling with my camera.

Gaps in the thick trees would reveal waterfalls pouring into the lake, which is about 12 degrees. They let people swim, but the locals tend to wonder why people would want to swim in such a cold lake, and instead prefer spas. I would have swam in the lake but never really got around to it as we spent most of our time looking down on it from high above.

IMG_8912.JPG

After a quick run around collecting tips for his informative speeches and song, the guide then told the captain to continue on.

IMG_8887.JPG

The gentle rocking of the boat was beginning to lull me to sleep, even though I hadn't done any walking yet. With good timing, the dock appeared and we disembarked, heading with full steam to our first destination... Lunch

IMG_8924.JPG

I spotted a local along the way...

IMG_8941.JPG

Smoked Trout and Currywurst is good energy food, I guess.

IMG_8948.JPG

And the most important ingredient to begin a 3 hour hike... Beer.

IMG_8949.JPG

Guten Appetit!

Please follow My Blog @ DanedeBeau for more travel related content.

DanedeBeau

Sort:  

wow these trip travel series looks amazing. i would look it as a privilege and honour to go to these beautiful places like the ones in your photos. just love these

Thanks for reading my blogs! It truly is a privilege to have visited the all the places I have been. Luckily in the case of Koniggsee, it is fairly close to where I currently live!

your photography is so good. I like your photo. I think you are best photographer in steemit.!

Thanks! There are certainly photographers better than me but i do enjoy taking my camera out.

beautiful photos thank you for showing us this paradise

This is Breathtaking place . very nice Photo thanks for sharing .. Cheers!!

Thanks for reading! @mjtravel.

Good , how much did you pay to promote bro ?

I liked that you took a moment to step back and enjoy the natural beauty when he was playing the trumpet. I think it's hard when you spend a lot of time with your camera in your hands to not try and capture every moment.

Yeah it certainly has to be done, especially when music is involved. The moment generally never properly translates. Like when someone shows you a video from a rock concert and it is just flashing nights and noise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75