Mismatched Travel Diaries - Turkey - Part 3 - Sailing The Turquoise Coast.

in #travel6 years ago

The first day of our 3 day sailing trip is as uneventful as we wanted it. A crew of two, the Turkish captain and his first mate. The captain seemed proud and confident. He looked at us three 21-year-old Aussies and shook his head.

"You two look fine..." he said, pointing at Pat and I, "... You, I will worry about you." he said to Mitch, we all nodded and jumped aboard the small yacht. Sleeping roughly ten people max, this sailing boat was a tight squeeze, but we all knew what we were in for. Food was provided, so was alcohol... and outside alcohol was not permitted.

Naturally, I had 3 bottles of vodka in my bag, Pat too and Mitch had some rum. No one else decided to bend the captains rules like us, and instead were committed to the single fridge of beers on board.

DSC00283.JPG

We sailed along the coast, marveling at the sheer size of the mountains that met the see. The East Coast of Australia is super-flat the whole way north so I had never even seen a coastline like this before. Maybe the Cliffs of Dover compared in someway, but thoughts of England were far from my mind.

This day we just lazed around in the sun, getting to know the rest of the people we'd be bunking up with for the next few days. I was amazed at the sweep panorama feature on my small Sony Point-and-Shoot and spent most of the day fiddling around with that to very varied results.

DSC00217.JPG
DSC00218.JPG
DSC00219.JPG
DSC00226.JPG

I was having fun, though I didn't quite understand how it worked, and the glare on the camera was blocking me from seeing that the images were bending and distorting with the rocking of the boat, and that it was clipping when things moved. I don't think much has changed with the sweep panorama technology, these days but my understanding of it certainly has changed a lot and I am experimenting with it more than ever.

The picture below is from my recent trip back home to Australia. It took 5 or 6 attempts to get this shot without any clipping, and I looked like a crazy person, running around in circles on the beach. My girlfriend was as amused as the other beach-goers, but I'm happy with the result.

IMG_7995.JPG

So we sail on, in perfect weather...

DSC00223.JPG

The boat pulls into a small seaside village called Kaş, for the evening and while the Captain and his first-mate prepare dinner, we wander the picturesque village and wait for sunset. This is one of those places that there is no chance I am not going back. If I can learn to sail, I will be sailing here, with my real camera too.

DSC00229.JPG

We assumed a lot of wealthy tourists stopped here too, as there were more jewellery stores than any other store, except maybe spice stores. Each of which smelled better than the last.

DSC00227.JPG

So Mitch and I end the day with some inspired attempts at capturing the incredible sunset, as Pat decided it was nap time, literally after a day of lying around.

DSC00233.JPG

DSC00232.JPG

We also tried to get a thoughtful shot of ourselves with the timer, but really it just looks like two people sitting on a rock wall... which, I guess it just is.

DSC00234.JPG

Danedebeau

More stories from Turkey:

Mismatched Travel Diaries - Turkey - Part 2 - Our first night, a fat cat and getting the most secret famous beer in the country.
Mismatched Travel Diaries - Turkey - Part 1 - Living In A Cave in Cappadocia, Turkey.

For more Mismatched Travel Stories - Visit My Blog

Sort:  

Hello, danedebeau! I wish you a very wonderful journey here on this platform :) Enjoy

Welcome to Steemit danedebeau. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05