Travels from Japan (day3)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Good afternoon my friends, welcome back to day three of my continuing story of my travels in Japan. Today We're picking up where we left off in Tokyo, taking a trip to Tsukiji market, seeing the sights of the Imperial Palace, and finally ending up back in Akihabara for some more nerd fun ;)

I woke up (fairly) early as to not miss all of the excitement of one of the busiest fish markets in the world, but I made sure to snap a nice morning picture of the courtyard garden at the hostel.

IMG_6032.jpg

After maybe getting a little lost on the way there, I finally made it. It was only about 9am but the area was packed!

IMG_6057.jpg

I made my way through the crowd towards the wholesale area, as they open it up to the public after all the real business is done for the day. And man, this place was huge!

IMG_6050.jpg

IMG_6048.jpg

It's so large, in fact, that the workers use these little trucks to get around and move product. You constantly have to be on the look out for these things coming at you, because they do NOT slow down!

IMG_6049.jpg

Even though most of the selling was done for the day, there was still quite a bit of amazing looking fish out.

IMG_6042.jpg

IMG_6041.jpg

IMG_6038.jpg

It wasn't too long before I had had my fill of the strong odor of the ocean (most of the stalls were empty by now anyways) and I headed out towards the middle of the city, to the Imperial Palace.

IMG_6085.jpg

There is a lovely courtyard in front of the palace that beautifully contrasts with the modern business district that surrounds it.

IMG_6080.jpg

I love seeing these traditional Japanese buildings being dwarfed by towering office buildings and high rises.

IMG_6094.jpg

I kept seeing these little stone markers that had been pounded into the ground around the courtyard grounds. I couldn't for the life of me figure out what they were and what they meant.

IMG_6095.jpg
[when I got back to the hostel that night I asked a Japanese guy at tending the bar what he thought they were. As it turns out, these stones have the kanji for electricity on them...they are just markers for where power cables are buried... XD Needless to say, I was sorely disappointed]

The moat and guard houses around the palace offer up some beautiful sights.

IMG_6103.jpg

IMG_6106.jpg

It was the end of winter and the cherry blossoms were just starting to come out!

IMG_6115.jpg

The inner courtyard was open this day, so I decided to take a look around. There was wonderful Japanese gardens throughout with plenty of lovely views.

IMG_6130.jpg

IMG_6137.jpg

IMG_6144.jpg

Lots of blossoms :)

IMG_6162.jpg

IMG_6164.jpg

IMG_6166.jpg

One thing I love to see is these carved stones, the craftsmanship on these is just insane.

IMG_6191.jpg

Since it was still early spring, they had some Mikan trees in the garden.

IMG_6194.jpg

While I still had some daylight left, I wanted to check out Akiba again since last time it was already night.

IMG_6200.jpg

IMG_6201.jpg

If only all graffiti were like this!

IMG_6202.jpg

But that's it for the moment, I hope you all enjoyed day 3 of my stories! I want to take a moment and thank everyone for the overwhelming feedback on the day 2 post, I can't have ever hoped for so much support!! Thank you all so much, goodnight my friends :)

Sort:  

Wow Japan looks awesome, if only a plane ticket didn't cost an arm and leg where I'm from. Enjoyed your blog!

Unfortunately it's really expensive from the US, those Aussies don't know how lucky they are!!

Good post, with fine photos and an interesting narrative. Keep up the good work!

Thanks! Will do :)

Good article !! I like it...one of my dream is travelling to japan. I dont know when it come true because I dont have enough money. Your article is very clearly and interesting . I am insane when I seen a picture of sakura blossom that I found in your snap. love sakura blossomm and I enjoying this article so much !

Thank you, I'm glad you like it! :) Hopefully some day you can make enough money on steemit to go to Japan!

These are some incredible pictures! I loved your work!

Thanks a lot! I can't believe the positive feedback I've been getting! :) I'm so happy that people are enjoying these posts

Thanks for sharing! I would love to visit a fish market like that one day.

Also the front ends of those little truck/carts looks like R2D2 or something!

Well if you want to go to Tsukiji market, you better hurry! They are moving to a less public area within the next few years, it got delayed from the end of 2016 so I'm lucky to have seen it! :) Also I noticed you're building a tiny home, that's awesome!! Can't wait to see how that turn out, consider me followed!

Congratulations @danielterry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @danielterry
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danielterry to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70