Travels from Japan (day4)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Welcome back friends, and thank you for joining me forday 4 of my stories and photos of my recent travels in Japan! :)

Today we will be exploring the urban jungle of uptown Tokyo before moving on to the "real" jungle at Ueno Zoo!

IMG_6311.jpg

Before I got to the hustle and bustle of the ever -so-popular Shibuya and Harajuku districts of Tokyo, I stumbled across a very quiet scene near my hostel.

IMG_6205.jpg

These small neighborhood cemeteries are actually quite common in Japan, as the Japanese culture greatly values their ancestors. So they don't want to travel much farther than their front doors to pay their respects. (It is also part of honoring the dead to keep the headstones clean, which I think is quite nice)

After a moment of silence, I headed off towards Shibuya, one of the main shopping and fashion districts in the country. Along the way I was careful to look down every alley way, there are often little stores hiding in them.

IMG_6216.jpg

There were many buildings to explore, since I am not much of a shopper, I just picked one at random and started making my way up the floors (pretty much every shop in Tokyo is multi-leveled)

IMG_6218.jpg

I must have gotten lucky, because at the top of one of the building I chose there was a wonderful rooftop garden and shrine!

IMG_6219.jpg

IMG_6221.jpg

There is so much to see in this part of the city, but a few things stuck out;
Such as this Christian church

IMG_6238.jpg

and not too far away was your one-stop shop for all your adult need...

IMG_6250.jpg

Some of the houses here were pretty unique (not to mention expensive!)

IMG_6255_v1-1.jpg

It also might not have been the best day to go visit, as there was some sort of demonstration being held by Japanese nationalists (I think it had to do with National Foundation Day but I'm not entirely sure because there was a pretty large police presence)

IMG_6261.jpg

I needed to escape the craziness going on in the streets, so I headed for the Meiji Jingu Shrine. At the entrance there was an impressive wooden gate welcoming you into a surprising escape from the city.

IMG_6271.jpg

Inside was extremely peaceful, you can easily forget that you are in the largest metropolitan areas in the world.

IMG_6274.jpg

IMG_6280.jpg

IMG_6287.jpg

After that nice escape, I was thrust right back into the urban jungle, with towering buildings and small, busy streets

IMG_6269.jpg

IMG_6302.jpg

I had had enough of the big city, so I met up with a couple friends from the hostel and went for a quick trip to Ueno Zoo!

IMG_6331.jpg

IMG_6377.jpg

IMG_6385.jpg

IMG_6422.jpg

Finally we all headed back to the hostel for a drink and some good company :)

IMG_6463.jpg

-end of day 4-

I want to thank you all for checking out today's post, I hope you liked it :) I'm continually blown away by the support and feedback that I have been getting on this series, I am so humbled to know you guys are liking these photos that I had never even planned for anyone but friends and family to see. Have a good night and see you on day five ;)

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a $9.87 @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @danielterry
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danielterry to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

very nice public in the pic i like to travel here nice post bro keep it up......

Thank you! :) Glad you like the pictures

Congratulations @danielterry! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @danielterry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75