A Beacon of Light [Xplore Canada! Location: Brockton Point Lighthouse]

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_9907.jpg

William D Jones was said to have saved 16 people from drowning over the course of the 25 years he served as lighthouse keeper at Brockton Point.

The original Brockton Point Lighthouse in Vancouver, Canada was built in 1890, to prevent ship collisions around the point. The current lighthouse that we see now was built in 1914. Going around the Stanley Park seawall, you can’t miss the distinct red and white lighthouse, looking like it came straight out of a Wes Anderson movie (Moonrise Kingdom, anyone?). Black arches support the lighthouse, under which you can pass to get onto the shoreline pathway. To the left you can see the iconic Lion’s Gate Bridge.

IMG_9910.jpg

I set out early in the morning to head towards the lighthouse. After a few minutes of snapping some photos I realized I wasn't alone; there was another man taking photos. I tried to stay out of their shots. Not long after that, a wedding photographer and the couple arrived as well to take photos. Clearly, this was a popular location for photos. I love the stairs that circle around the lighthouse on both sides. While walking under the arches and up the stairs, the whole location felt cinematic to me for some reason. (Is that a weird way to describe a place?)

IMG_9902.jpg

IMG_9903.jpg

After I got the photos I wanted, I headed back the way I came. I had never walked along the seawall on my own; usually I was either walking or cycling with someone. What’s different when you’re on your own (especially earlier in the morning) is that you pay a lot more attention to your surroundings and notice more things. I found myself watching a lot of the birds that were swimming or sleeping among the waters: a couple of Great Blue Herons, a number of seagulls, and, of course, plenty of Canadian Geese. I even spotted a family of geese where the children had their markings starting to come in, which I thought was very cute.

IMG_9913.jpg

IMG_9916.jpg

IMG_9915.jpg

If you’re visiting Vancouver, walking or cycling the Stanley Park seawall is a must. Be sure to take time to appreciate the surroundings and check out all of the landmarks along the seawall!

IMG_9917.jpg
One more Canadian Goose for you

Subscribe to me on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/daphnexplores
Check out more photos on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/daphnexplores/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66