Have You Ever Walked Across a Suspension Bridge?

in #travel6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-05-05 at 11.31.03 AM.png

When tourists visit Vancouver, Canada, one of the places often recommended to visit is the Capilano Suspension Bridge. The bridge spans 140 meters long and sits 70 meters above the river, offering stunning views of the surroundings. There is also an admission fee to visit the bridge and park, which can seem quite steep (currently $42.95 CAD for an adult).

This is where I tell my friends who are visiting Vancouver that there is an alternative. There is another suspension bridge in Lynn Canyon Park located in North Vancouver, but this one is free. Mind you, it’s not as long as Capilano’s, measuring only 48 meters in length (though it still sits a good 50 meters above the canyon), but it still offers great views and you can hike on the popular and fairly easy trails within the park. So it’s not that I’m recommending you to not visit Capilano Suspension Bridge, but if you want to save some money and still get the experience of walking over a suspension bridge, try Lynn Canyon.

That’s where I went on Sunday. It had been a few years since I had last visited the park. The last time I went was with Bee and we had a picnic by the water in the park, which is something I would definitely recommend if you’re visiting. When I went this time I noticed something new: They had posted signs everywhere warning people not to jump due to deaths that had occurred mostly from people cliff diving. Nature always wins.

Making our way along the trails to the Twin Falls Bridge and the 30-foot Pool, we would get intermittent views of the powerful waters rushing through the canyon. Signs along the way would warn us again and again not to jump, informing us that there were hidden rocks beneath the surface. Once we neared the 30-foot Pool, we stopped and sat on the rocks by the water for a bit, enjoying the beautiful view and listening to the water crash over the rocks. It felt like so long since it had been this sunny and my eyes felt so unadjusted to the bright light, but I wasn’t complaining one bit. We watched as a man waded out into the water before immersing himself completely underneath and then jumping back out, yelling unintelligibly. The water was very cold, we could understand that much.

After we came out of the trails, we came across a shop (part café, part gift shop) and got ourselves some ice cream cones while we waited for the bus. Once we were back down in Lonsdale Quay we headed to Tap and Barrel for Fish and Chips and a beer and sat out on the patio, enjoying the sunshine. What more could you ask for?


Watch this video I made at the park!

You can also find me here:
Instagram @daphnexplores
YouTube www.youtube.com/daphnexplores
Facebook @daphnexplores
Twitter @daphnexplores

Sort:  

Sounds like a lot of fun! I love suspension bridges. Especially here in the Pacific Northwest they make a lot of sense. We have a geological certainty of earth quakes here.

I wonder how many people jumped to their death before the signs were put in place?

I like the idea of visiting "moose-hockey land" at some point in the future. I will certainly be on a budget when I do make it up north of the border, damned exchange rate ARG!

Thanks for this post.

I found this post because of BuddyUp's Post-Spot. You can learn more about BuddyUp here.

@tawasi Apparently around 30 people have died in the canyon in the past 25 years!
Hopefully you'll make your way up here at some point! Thanks for reading!

I have not get the opportunity to travel such a long span suspension bridge but wish one day that dream will come true.

@naim62 I hope you'll get to soon, it's fun!

Thanks. I hope so.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67