You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greenland – a world of ice and snow

in #travel5 years ago

The reflection of ice in water on the last photo is mesmerizing. So beautiful.

It is indeed alarming to hear how fast is the ice disappearing. I'm glad that there are many talks about global warming nowadays. Countries also apply some new laws to protect the environment better but it is still far from where it should be. We keep 'killing' our mother earth with our actions. (But this is not about your post, sorry :))

What an adventure you had! I have never been to Greenland but it absolutely is on the list of the locations that I have to visit one day. It is so serene and beautiful. I guess that cracking sound of ice is kind of scary, isn't it? I can't even imagine how loud it is. And how does the ice smell? :) I went to smell my freezer but it doesn't have any particular smell :D So now I'm curious..

I'm glad that you showed us also other parts of Greenland than just ice. These kids look so happy and I would definitely visit the museum. All your photos are superb!

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote! It is absolutely deserved!

Sort:  

Thank you :) and thanks for taking time to comment. It was an adventure. It is definitly a place I will recommend to visit. The nature is so grand. Makes us feel small. And yes, the cracing of ice is a bit scary. Especielly when in that small boat and it started to move because of big chunks falling in the sea. But also that night when I woke up because of the noise and the shaking ...I thougt it was an earthquake!

How to describe how it smells? what I mean is this cool, slighly salty smell.. The smell in the air changes slightly when getting close to the ice. Definitly not like the ice in the freezer....

Oh, I forgot to mention that small red boat. It's very nice of you to share this one too as I could really not imagine how big that ice block would be. It's enormous!

Now I understand :) I didn't think about the sea to be honest. I don't know why :)

Thank you for getting back to me. It was my pleasure to visit your post :)

Thank you. I am glad you liked it. The photo with the red boat shows the scale of the glacier. I decided to post that one to show how big the glacier really is. It was like a wall of ice. And you are right about global warming . Together I think we can do something to make the process slow down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77