A Trip to Europe - Planning

in #travel7 years ago

A Trip to Europe



So, do you fancy a trip to Europe? I sure do. And not just any short holiday where you buzz around tourist landmarks and areas and go from hotel to hotel. No no no, I want to genuinely visit Europe and soak in the culture, the beauty, and the people there.

I'll be periodically updating this when I have enough stuff to add to a new blog post. This is really just going to be my planning phase for now as I research and brainstorm ideas of where I'll be and what I'll do.

Which Country?

Choosing which country to visit is definitely one of the hardest parts. Europe offers so many awesome opportunities and places to visit that you simply can't just go to one of them. That's why I've decided to that in my month or so there, I'll be travelling between countries often, with one country as my "home base". But which country will be my home base? You must consider prices, location, visas, and much more. So after much deliberation I decided on Austria. It's mostly central in Europe, yet living costs there are surprisingly low compared to most other European countries. And who wouldn't want to stay near the Alps? After doing some research I discovered that a one bedroom apartment is really cheap in Vienna and other Austrian cities. Since accommodation will take up much of your budget, this is another bonus.

Visa

The next thing on the list after deciding where you should go is what visas are available to you. Austria offers the Schengen Visa because it is part of the Schengen Area, comprising 26 European states that have officially abolished passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders. It's as if they made this visa specifically for me and what I want to do! I can have free roam of all of those countries and with such a low cost.
It costs 60 Euros for a 90 day visa. Sounds good enough for me. If you want to stay longer you'll have to get the 99 Euro one, which is still pretty cheap when it comes to visas.

When to Go

At what time of the year should you go? That's certainly a tough one, since there's things happening in Europe all year round. I'm just going at the time which best suits me, although you should consider going in the summer if you hate the cold (and vice-versa).

Travelling

The best way to travel there is by airplane, of course. Airplane tickets are relatively inexpensive depending on where you live. I just did some research on Google and found the cheapest tickets, which weren't at a bad price at all.
As for travel in Europe, public transport is amazing there. Buses and trains crisscross the entire continent, so you really shouldn't have to worry that much about transport there.


And that's a summary of what I got after some detailed research. I hope to share this wonderful experience with you guys soon!

Sort:  

I hope Steemit in the future will have "home bases" around the world ;)

i have to get my passport first then i go travel for free the world

I like travelling and have travelled to many countries in Europe. The problem is that I am a turkish person and have to apply for visa with many documents, that is killing me.

Yes Europe is a great place to visit, we have a lot of different culture and the food is great here as well :)

Nice choice picking Austria for your "Home Base". Vienna is amazing to visit and live in!

What other cities are you planing to visit?

Austria is definitely a great decision! :P Vienna has some really cool and beautiful places. Have you considered doing something like "Interrail"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69135.35
ETH 3742.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67