Places of our beautiful Earth - part I

in #travel6 years ago

As a human being, I sometimes leave the area where I pursue my life and dreams, in search of other places of our beautiful Earth. So it happens that this summer I went to a stunning Mediterranean place and I cannot stop thinking of it. Alright, it is not a mere coincidence that I found myself in that mesmerizing place, I've planned this trip with 6-5 months in advance. And then I just waited and waited for it to happen…

It is actually nice that writing about it brings back so many memories, I can almost feel the smell of salty sea water again. What place?
I’m talking writing about Malta, that little island in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, where cultures, history and nature’s grandeur combine. To be more accurate, there are actually 3 islands : Malta, Gozo and the very small island of Comino.

I’m going to write some articles about beautiful cities and places to visit there, this being my first one. Today I’m bringing to your attention Mdina and Dingli Cliffs, as seen by my human eyes (and Canon PowerShot SX710 camera).

Mdina – the silent city:

Mdina is a fortified city, founded around the 8th century BC by the Phoenicians. I still remember the feeling I had when I first saw its massive entrance, imagine how hundreds of years those gates were sealed, meant to not allow invaders inside, and now they are just welcoming the curious eyes that want to revive a bit of history.

IMG_0425.JPG

It didn't take me long to be impressed, the narrow streets paved with rock, the beautiful yellow rock color which is typical of the area and yes, it was even a Capital city for a lot of time (throughout the Middle Ages, until 1530).

IMG_0434.JPG

PicsArt_08-16-01.03.16.jpg

And a little pirouette before leaving this place that felt like travelling through time:

PicsArt_08-27-05.16.37.jpg

Next, we continued our travel story and headed up to Dingli Cliffs and I was not prepared for what was there.

Dingli Cliffs:

First, I must explain about my sunset obsession: I'm fascinated by this little wonder of everyday life and whenever I have the chance, I pick a spot and pause everything just to admire how the day is saying goodbye. I have a big 'collection' of sunsets in my head, but also in photographs.

So you have one sunset lover, a breathtaking place and a camera.

IMG_0594.JPG

Nature is always amazing, there are places on Earth where you just realize that you are part of something bigger, it is overwhelming to see such beauty and think of it as your home. Here I was, standing on top of the world:

PicsArt_11-12-05.43.16.jpg

Soon enough, the moment I was anticipating arrived: the mighty sunset. It was a show, put up just for us - around 10 people on this huge rock, in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea and we enjoyed it. We enjoyed it selfishly, watching it in silence, being grateful to be there. The best sunset from my collection so far.

IMG_0677.JPG

IMG_0680.JPG

This was my first story from Malta, but there will be others to follow. If you enjoyed traveling with me, do not forget to upvote and share your thoughts!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dianasilvarumdea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Amazing !!! nice work keep it up

Great post!! I love Malta, it is gorgeous and I love how you’ve captured it.

Thank you! Yes, Malta is like a dream :)

let's leave everything behind and run together @dianasilvarumdea :)))
in pursuit of a perfect sunset

I'm packing my stuff :))

Wow! nice views you got here. Keep sharing!

Thank you, fellow traveller 😊

Congratulations @dianasilvarumdea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59