Places of our beautiful Earth - Part II

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever noticed how, with the passing of time, the memories slowly start to fade from our human being minds? It is a natural thing that one cannot control, but luckily we have pictures. This is what I love about photography, it gives you the ability to 'freeze' time : you just capture a moment and it stays yours forever.

Going on a journey down the memory lane, I'm sharing with you part II of a wonder tale through beautiful Malta (my first travel story post here).

Although surrounded by the blue Mediterranean sea, there are not many sandy beaches there and, usually, if you enjoy sunbathing, those are one of the firsts spots where you want to go. However, today I want to share a not so known rocky beach, Mistra Bay and another beautiful place to spend a day caressed by the sun: Popeye's village.

Mistra Bay:

We felt a bit adventurous and decided to take a walk to there, and even though it was a hot Sunday of August, the effort has paid off really soon. From Xemxija to Mistra Bay on the rocks you can see stunning views of Malta.

IMG_0121.JPG

And the city of Bugibba far away:

IMG_0285.JPG

Mistra Bay is a place where nature is expressing in its pure way, the bay is usually visited by locals and it is not very crowded, but other marine inhabitants can be spotted: small fish, small crabs, and even sea urchins.

Suddenly, there it was, so vibrant and alive:

IMG_0257.JPG

IMG_0177.JPG

I have never experienced the sea like this before, so salty and so... raw, swimming along with the locals. I did catch the Maltese weekend vibe, that's for sure!

IMG_0133.JPG

Popeye's Village:

It was built in the 1980 as a film set for Popeye's live movie and now has become a small fun park. Why is it so interesting? I can only share my experience and it was like being part of a different world: one with sailor houses, Popeye and Olive, azure waters. Not to mention the view, I somehow felt like each stunning view in Malta is competing for first place.

IMG_0719.JPG

IMG_0736.JPG

Even though it is an artificial man made village, honestly a really cute one, I still think that nature is more impressive and the landscapes confirmed that.

IMG_0746.JPG

There were other fun activities to do, so time flew by and the memory of a great summer day is all that's left now.

IMG_0785.JPG

IMG_0720.JPG

I will continue with part III and take you on a journey in other different, yet beautiful places. If you enjoyed traveling with me, do not forget to comment and upvote!

Sort:  

Lovely scenery. Blue is my favourite colour.

Nice some cracking views. I though you could live in Popeye's village would be amazing!

It would be fun indeed to be able to live there 😁

You should have moved in claimed squatters rights ;)

Beautiful village ! Deep blue .. I like pictures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54