Romania Travel Tip: #1 Deva Fortress

in #travel6 years ago

Dear friends,

Welcome to my blog, where i try to promote some of the most beautiful places, architectural sites and nature wonders of my homeland, Romania.

The main purpose is to make Romania your travel destination in the near future.
If i manage that, then my mission is complete

This is my #1 post of a Travel Tip series, and today i would like to show you the Deva Fortress

FB_IMG_1518034287326.jpg
Source: Facebook

Deva Fortress is being considered as one of the most important medieval fortifications in Transylvania.
Built in the XIII-Th century on a volcanic hilltop Deva Fortress has a great history.

_20170912_170034-01.jpeg

Used as a defensive system against the Tartar invasion, the Fortress suffered many siege attacks throughout history, every one of them putting a mark on the walls

20170912_163315.jpg

Hold by voyevodes, dukes and duchesses, offered as a gift by some, sold by others, the remains of the Fortress hold strong, as the walls being the only witnesses of all those events who changed the history

20170912_164632-01.jpeg

You can visit Deva Fortress daily from 09:00-21:00 (Free entrance)

You can get there by foot or using the chairlift for a $2 fee

v4Qr59I.gif

Sort:  

Much more damaged than the castle you showed a week or so ago. :D
But still seems interesting as it is on a hill surrounded by forest and in the tale the city.

I am waiting to get lead through a lot of other interesting places in Roumania. ^^

Greets Naturicia

Thank you! I am so glad to see someone watching my posts so closely, hope i won't disappoint you in the next ones :)

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.15% vote... I was summoned by @discoverro! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 0.81% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @discoverro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64