Photos from a trip to George Town, Penang, Malaysia... A really cool place with amazing food!

in #travel6 years ago

Right now I'm on the last night of a 3 day trip to George Town in Penang, Malaysia. I'm blown away. I'd always heard good things about it, but I wasn't expecting this. Penang is an incredible mix of Malay, Indian, Chinese, Thai, and British -- and of Muslim, Hindu, Christian, and Buddhist. You see that in the architecture, the faces of the people, the houses of worship, and in the food.

And oh man is the food good! I have traveled all over Southeast Asia and always considered Thai and Vietnamese cuisine to be the top tier, with everything else falling somewhere below that. Not anymore. Penang cuisine has made the A team. Within even a small area, you can find incredible Chinese, Indian, and Malay cuisine. Today I had dim sum for breakfast, butter chicken with garlic naan and daal for lunch, and nasi lemak (national dish of Malaysia) for dinner, and followed that up with some delicious durian fruit.

I'll just let these photos tell the story:

bike kids.jpg
Street art is a big attraction here. This might be the most photographed thing here!

art photo.jpg
This one is cool too

night shops.jpg
The British colonial influence along with the Chinese style shop houses had me snapping photos of building everywhere I went, something I don't normally do

window.jpg
The facades of the older buildings have beautiful patinas on them, but the city doesn't feel dilapidated

fried oyster.jpg
And the food!

hawker center.jpg
It's everywhere...

dim sum.jpg
And it's amazing! Dim sum for breakfast...

tandoori.jpg
Indian tandoori for lunch

tikka.jpg
...and it's the best Indian I've ever had (although I should say I've never been to India)

lok lok.jpg
Street meat for a snack

hokkien mee.jpg
For dinner, the local specialty, Hokkien mee

durian whole.jpg

Durian.jpg
And durian for dessert

waterfront.jpg
The city is set on an island in the Malacca Strait, and has a nice waterfront. Out of town, there are also a number of beaches around the island, but I stayed put in the city on this trip.

A few more images from around the city:

shop for rent.jpg

mosque reflect.jpg

patina wall.jpg

meat.jpg

patina and birds.jpg
I'll leave it with this Hitchcockian scene.

I really can't recommend this place enough. It's just so fascinating seeing how so many distinct cultures come together to create such a vibrant city.

Sort:  

Good read! We just gave you a small upvote together with over 50 followers of the @travelfeed curation trail.
Have you heard of @travelfeed? Using the #travelfeed tag rewards authors and content creators who produce exceptional travel related articles, so be sure use our tag to get much bigger upvotes, resteems and be featured in our curation posts!
More info and requirements

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

What an incredible culture, would like to see someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93