Grand Canyon, The Battleship Rock

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5677.JPG

I decided on this fine cold morning to try and find my way to the top of, The Battleship Rock.

I had done this hike/climb before with friends that new the way and also helped me get up the rock in a couple places. I thought I would just see how it went and if I had too much trouble I could always turn around.
I started this adventure at the Bright Angel Trail-head in early December on a sunny, but very cold morning, around 12 degrees Fahrenheit. Only a short way down the trail I had the pleasure to enjoy a few Grand Canyon Big Horn sheep.

IMG_5648.JPG
Grand Canyon Big Horn Sheep

IMG_5651.JPG

IMG_5653.JPG
Looking at The Battleship in the morning sunrise

To get to The Battleship Rock you hike down the Bright Angel trail past the mile and a half rest stop to the next big switchback. Stay on the main trail about 100 yards past the switchback to a large pointy rock on the left; this is a good place to cut off the main trail at about two miles in. From there you have to head off trail and stay as level as possible along the canyon ledges to the saddle at, The Battleship Rock. From the saddle you follow a trail to the right of the rock going north about a ½ mile and then scramble steeply to the base of the rock.

IMG_5658.JPG
The Battleship from the saddle.

At the base of the rock you have to find where to start climbing up. It definitely helped that I had done this before but it was still confusing. I did get off track a couple times and almost quit and turned around three different times. Then I just kept telling myself I made it this far, I CAN DO THIS!, and kept poking around till a spot would looked familiar. Getting to the top was very challenging and took, rock scrambling, walking on some pretty narrow ledges, wedging yourself in an 18 inch wide crevice and shimming yourself up to the next level, then using rock nobs to hold onto and my upper body strength to pull myself up. I just kept picking away at it till I made it.
I do love the adrenaline rush I get when doing something dangerous like this.

IMG_5672.JPG
Looking up the crevice

IMG_5673.JPG
Looking down the crevice

At the top the views are awesome and there are some very old carved names in the sandstone from the 1920's and 30’s. After I spent some time enjoying the views I worked my way back down the rock. I thought it was easier getting down then climbing up. All in all it is about 9 miles round trip and a couple thousand feet elevation gain and some challenging free rock climbing. Not recommended for anyone afraid of heights.

IMG_5660.JPG
I made it to the top!

IMG_5661.JPG
The views are spectacular.

IMG_5662.JPG
Carved name in the sandstone and also from the town I grew up in.

IMG_5663.JPG
Looking off the top you can see the Bright Angel trail switchbacks off in the distance in the canyon

IMG_5666.JPG
My signature photo. Also looking across at Bright Angel Canyon from one side to the other.

IMG_5667.JPG
Views

IMG_5668.JPG
Heading back down the rocks and crevices.

IMG_5669.JPG
A selfee

IMG_5670.JPG
Looking all the way to the North Rim.

IMG_5676.JPG
Looking back at The Battleship.

IMG_5679.JPG
Telephoto of the top of The Battleship Rock

IMG_5680.JPG
Back on the top of the South Rim of the Grand Canyon looking back at The Battleship Rock.
What a great fun day!

Hope you enjoyed my Grand Canyon Adventure!

!steemitworldmap 36.056595 lat -112.125092 long, 'Grand Canyon, Bright Angel Trail' d3scr

Sort:  

A beautiful #walkwithme, your adventures always make me smile, as well as your selfies!! <3 <3 <3 Keep em coming!!

Thank you. I'm kinda slow getting them together, but plan to post many.

And what do you think, was it easier to get down? What a great walk! Grand Canyon always looks pretty intimidating!


Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to giving climbing and hiking a platform here on Steemit. It is manually curated by @HaTo.

You can upvote this comment if you like to support the @Climbing-Trail and follow if you want to discover quality content like this on a regular basis!

Thanks for you support.
It was definitely easier to get down and part of that was I new the way. Going up I had a little trial and error finding my way.

Haha, great! I myself find it often easier to get up. But sure, finding your way may be a bit more difficult in that kind of terrain!

Amazing adventure! I would be terrified by the heights, but I really enjoyed seeing your vistas. Btw I didn't grow up in San Bernardino, but I live here now.

Thanks for enjoying my adventure, I have many more to share.

I am excited to see them!

Ha! Really? I'm right here next door in Muscoy! Your the first Steemian that I know from San Bernardino. That's so cool... It's good to meet you.

I thought you might be local, judging from your hiking blog! Yay!

Me and a few other SoCal steemians are thinking of planning a meetup here soon. I'll be sure to keep you in mind so I can let you know in case you'd like to come!

Thanks! My hubby @mattlovell and I would really enjoy that!

@creationofcare We are thinking next wednesday. The 24th. How does that work for you?

That date is fine. It will need to be after work time, like 6 or 7 pm, though. Yay!

7pm @ Buffalo Wild Wings at 1500 E Village Way off the Lincoln Ave/Nohl Ranch Rd exit on the 55 just south of the 91 interchange. Let me know if that is ok for you.

Thanks for this post! I've had my eye on the Battleship for a while. I've done quite a bit of Grand Canyon hiking, including a rim to rim day hike. The next time I'm there, I'm gonna try the Battleship. Awesome photos!

It's really awesome if you like that kind of thing. You might like to look at my post from November of the Grand Canyon Royal Arch.
I've also done rim to rim day hikes four times now.

OK, will do. Added you my follow. And yes, I do like that kind of thing :)

Amazing shots I've always wanted to visit the grand canyon. One day hey! Until then I have you to share thanks :) 💯🐒

Just a long way from England. But i'll make it one day 💯🐒

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=doverland
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=grand-canyon-the-battleship-rock


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I have gotta do this hike sometime... just sayin' mom! Hint, hint. Wink, wink. lol.

Can't wait to take you there sometime.

thanks for information

Wow! Thanks for the awesome pictures. Great journey you shared, thank you so much. That one sandstone pic is interesting. And from the same town. Makes me want to get out and do a walk.

WOW! In all seriousness, you're my hero. What an amazing journey, from trail head to peak, and incredible views! (I mean, of course, it's the Grand Canyon, but still.) Thanks for sharing your adventures. You're an inspiration!

Thank you! I have more awesome adventure to share, stay tuned

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67186.90
ETH 3110.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77