Hiking and Volunteering as a Conservation Hero

in #travel6 years ago

Service for nature conservation is service to humanity

I had a great time hiking with members of The Greens (@thegreens) this week for a biodiversity conservation project in Kedjom-Keku.
20180402_160035.jpg
I was glad to be part of the team that started the fencing of 800 hectares of forests for conservation. The forest fencing was aimed at stopping cattle from getting into the protected area.
20180403_104616.jpg

Besides forest fencing, I also enjoyed grabbing the chainsaw and volunteering as a carpenter for the fencing project.
20180403_073844.jpg
20180402_164601.jpg
Our team looks forward to constructing more than 500 metres of dead fence as well as construct and install 200 beehives before the 15th of April.
Learn more about our trip to the forests of Kedjom-Keku at https://steemit.com/sustainability/@thegreens/the-journey-to-the-forest-of-kedjom-keku-a-biodiversity-conservation-journey-1

Follow and connect with Conservation Heroes @thegreens @martin.mikes @treeplanter @kedjom-keku @laurakiss @samascholastica @thanianshiri

Thanks!

Sort:  

Hey what a nice photos, thanks for share!) If you like epic cinematic photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be an honor to me! :)

Great to connect!

Great to connect with you and i look forward to following and learning more about your work

Wow, good job :) I've been wanting to do some volunteering for a while now and have found some great programs. I can imagine it's a great feeling being out in nature and really do something where you can see the change.

Wow, great to know you are a vegan and have a strong interest in volunteering. I have a few vegetarian friends and do enjoy some vegetarian meals with them. Also, its nice to connect and i am glad we now have a chance to share experiences. Have you ever volunteered out of Sweden? Africa? However, connect with my organization to learn more about our projects and programs @thegreens.

To be honest I haven't taken my time to volunteer at all but would love to. I sure will take a look at it =) Would love to get involved and do something now while I have some time over :)

Interesting..
Keep sailing bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69429.43
ETH 3691.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.35