You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chasing the Time Zones

in #travel5 years ago

I live right on the line between 2 time zones, and go back and forth multiple times some days (like today). I'm used to it. The biggest confusion for newcomers is that you have to specify which time zone you mean every time you mention a time-- no assuming.

I despise DST, possibly because I am NOT a morning person. I would set my clock to solar noon if it stayed consistent instead of wandering back and forth throughout the year (I plotted a graph and everything!).

During DST (SPIT!) solar noon sometimes doesn't arrive until after 2 PM (by the clocks).

I think if you got rid of all time zones you'd need new hour designations to avoid confusion due to ingrained expectations. Maybe alphabetical (leaving out a couple) rather than numerical-- "The time is R:30." With "Time A" coinciding with (current) midnight UT.

Yeah, I'm probably overthinking.

Sort:  

I suspect time zones would still exist as a de facto standard similar to the present, but instead of everyone being 9-to-5 per local time, they would use the UTC equivalent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63491.36
ETH 3082.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86