Last Stop: Oracle of Delphi

in #travel7 years ago

After the more or less successful attempt to climb Mount Olympus (read here about the Olymp) there was one last place I wanted to visit before I'd fly back home: Oracle of Delphi. I just had a class in uni about History of Mankind and learned about the important role Delphi had played in human development. Similar to the Olymp, I wanted to see for myself.
If you don't know, Delphi was used as direct connection between the Gods and the people in ancient Greece. Everyone could ask the Oracle a question and got an answer. However, the answer was usually a riddle which taught people to think for themselves and not just rely on the Gods.

There was definitely a mysterious atmosphere. Also, it always astonishes me to see buildings that were built thousands of years ago. I lost my good luck for a short while when I was at the Olymp (and failed at reaching the summit), but I got it back when I was at Delphi: I was able to visit the sight for free and also had the most amazing time there.

57.JPG
This is the temple where Pythia - the High Priestess - made her prophecies. She inhaled fumes coming out of a crack in the earth which made her go into a state of trance. Whatever she said during that trance was interpreted by priests and the answer was delivered to the person who had asked.

27.JPG
The prophecies and riddles influenced politics and wars. Since the priests received all the questions from rulers, politicians, philosophers, etc. they had knowledge of everything happening in Greece and even further as people travelled to Delphi from all over.
Delphi stated that the wisest person on earth was Socrates before he was a famous philosopher. His verdict later in life was that "he knows that he knows nothing". This means Delphi's initial statement is that you always have to keep asking questions, keep learning and developing as a person (my interpretation).

26.JPG

58.JPG

59.JPG

56.JPG

After spending the day at Delphi and indulging fully into my love for history, we drove back to Athens airport. Sadly, it was time to say goodbye to beautiful Greece. Make sure to read my previous posts about my travels in Greece: Athens, Island of Milos, Cliff Diving in Ios, Meteora and Climbing the Olymp.

Don't forget to Upvote!

Follow me @earthlingvera !


Get to know me:
Introduction Post

Sort:  

I like your thoughts about the Oracle of Delphi - it must have been very interesting for die priests to hear all the questions and learn about all the troubles in the country. I would not be surprised if the answers were "politics made by humans" (in spite of all the holy fumes :-)). Your take on it (the wisdom lies in asking questions and keeping up the personal development) sounds good to me. -- Your photos are great!

Congratulations @earthlingvera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62