Living in a Van in Mallorca

in #travel6 years ago

This year I fulfilled a dream of mine which was travelling in a van. This way of living gives you more freedom than any other in my opinion. You can drive everywhere you want to, stop wherever you like, sleep at the most beautiful places and cook comfortably in your small kitchen inside the van. I did this in Mallorca, an island famous for partying and package holiday, so exactly my thing - not. However, Mallorca has a beautiful landscape, good weather and cheap flights, so I decided to go there anywhere.

We rented a van and roadtripped around the island. And let me tell you, we had the best time ever. We barely ever met other tourists, because they are all crowded at their hotels near Palma. Mallorca is wonderful for hiking as well which is one of my favorite activities ever as you might know if you follow my blog.

The year before, I went long-distance-hiking with a backpack on that had everything I needed in it. This was a freeing feeling as well, but there is only that much ground you can cover by foot. With a van you have more comfort and you can simply see more. Nevertheless, you are more connected to you surroundings when you hike. After all, I love both ways of travelling as they have pros and cons.

You just know that the day is going to be good when you wake up to a sight like this.
14.JPG

I have a slight obsession with arches.
31.JPG

I have to admit that sunsets are pretty cheesy, but it's also magical when the sun sets at the sea.
39.JPG

We actually got very lost at this hike. There was a point where I thought I'd have to spend the night in the mountains, because it was getting dark and we were unwillingly completely off track. The scenery was great nevertheless.
26.JPG

Looking for animals no matter where.
07.JPG

09.JPG

15.JPG

I have this secret gift of meeting donkeys on pretty much every hike I go on.
10.JPG

Nature at its best.
19.JPG

04.JPG

This is it for now, but there are going to be some more posts on my travels in Mallorca!

Follow me @earthlingvera and don't forget to UPVOTE!

Thank you!


Check out my previous travel posts:
Norway
Paris
Uganda
Greece

Sort:  

Wow, I love that orange sky!

Yes, Mallorca has more to offer than party hotels. It was a great idea to travel to the secret nature spots with a van and to go hiking. I love your photos, the landscape looks spectacular! I am looking forward to your upcoming posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55