Meteora in Greece

in #travel7 years ago

After relaxing on the island of Ios (read my last post here!) we headed back to Athens and rented a car there. Once again we arrived in the middle of the night, but everything worked out better than expected. Maybe my guardian angel paid close attention to me during this whole trip or perhaps Greece just really wanted to impress me - whichever, it worked very well and I am absolutely in love with the country and the people there!

We only had a short time left in Greece, but still a lot on our bucket list, so we immediately took off and headed north to Meteora. And let me tell you, Meteora is truly spectacular and dreamy and out of this world (I am kind of running out of words to describe Greece, haha). It is a view you'd rather expect to see in China than in an European country - at least that's what I'd been thinking. On top of natural stone pillars monks had built monasteries back in the 14th century. Usually, I am much more into untouched nature and not so much into human stuff, but here the buildings blend in so perfectly well with their environment that is makes the view even better. I had only seen one picture of Meteora before I came there and not many expectations, so naturally I was blown away. But see for yourself!

17_01.JPG

It's like stepping into another world.

16_01.jpg

Just sitting there and taking in the view made me feel so humble and inspired.

18_01.JPG
19_01.JPG

20_01.JPG

52_01.JPG

53_01.JPG

This was pure serenity for me.

54_01.JPG

There isn't much else to say about Meteora. Sometimes pictures do tell more than a thousand words.

I love creating these posts, going through all the photos I took and dreaming about the wonderful summer I had!

Follow me @earthlingvera and give this post an upvote!

There is more to come about Greece and all my other travels!

Bye, earthlingvera


Check out my other posts on Greece:
Part I
Part II
Part III
And my posts from Norway:
Part I
Part II

Sort:  

Hi earthlingvera, thanks for sharing your experience of Meteora! Wow, you picture are great! It's amazing how people were able to build houses on top of those cliffs. I am looking forward to you next post! Dorit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60