Pearl of Africa

in #travel7 years ago

I consider myself to be a pretty open-minded and unprejudiced person, but I still had a certain image of Africa stuck in my head before I went there. I thought of deserts, lack-of water, elephants and lions. It was so different when I travelled to Uganda. The country is green, even tropical and sub-tropical in most parts. Besides, Africa is a huge continent with lots of individual countries - all with their own history and uniqueness.

In Uganda there still is a lack of education, food and clean water but there is also development and improvement everywhere. I worked with a local organization when I was there and their commitment and dedication for their community really inspired me.

I did meet very poor people and children but I learned so much from them about what truly matters in life. Not wealth in terms of money but rather abundance of health, family, people that care for you and good food.
I also have a series of portrait photographs to come, so stay tuned for that. But for now here are some more impressions from Uganda.


This was in the Murchison Falls National Park.
17.JPG

16.JPG

People told me that there used to be just one waterfall but in 1962 when Uganda gained independence from Britain the river was so flooded that a second string of water broke off - initially forming the second waterfall on the left. Isn't that cool?
19.JPG

20.JPG

15.JPG

13.JPG

22.JPG

14.JPG

21.JPG

Remember to upvote and follow to see more!

@earthlingvera


Check out my last post:
Impressions from Uganda

Sort:  

Very impressive pictures, like the one with the pink background

Thank you, it was at sunrise!

Great post. I went to Kenya for 2 weeks it was also not what I expected.

Kenya is definitely on my list as well!

The only Ugandan encounter that I've had in my life was with a black tea, which was so strong that I almost fainted after drinking it :) Wonderful photos! I would love to go there one day.

Hahaha that's funny. I drank so much black tea when I was there and even brought a big bag with me home. It is really strong and so sweet as they put so much sugar in it. Anyway, I loved it.

Stunning post, I am going to resteem this!

thanks so much :)

My pleasure

Beautiful places and great photos!

62ef8c8df49453befc547ceed738e0cd.jpg

If you have more related pictures that you can put in this blog, then I will resteem it. thanks.

Your pictures show the diversity of Uganda - thanx for sharing! I am looking forward to your next post with Portraits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55