Costa Rica Day 3 - Playa Hermosa, Jaco

in #travel6 years ago

I forgot to thank @zacharylutes for the recommendation to check out Playa Hermosa, Jaco as a surfing spot in Costa Rica. Unfortunately, I was not able to surf because my wrist is injured from too much computer time. I'm hoping time away from hammering away on my keyboard and mouse will help it heal. You'll notice I have an arm brace on in some photos.

The one good thing that came out of not being able to surf was that we got to sleep in without any worry. Yay!

We woke up at about 10:00am and headed out to soak in the sun right away. Wowsa was it ever hot! Far to hot for people from Canada. I had acclimatized my skin to the sun using sun beds before leaving home but my mom had not. Not only was the sun uber strong but the sand was extremely HOT!

kerrisheila.jpg

We had to get out feet in the water as fast as possible. You'll see in the image below that the sand on the beach is black. This is why it was so hot! According to Wikipedia, black sand is made when lava hits sea water. That's pretty darn cool. Since the heat had obviously kicked our butts we decided to call an Uber and go into Jaco and get some lunch and groceries.

blacksandplayahermosa.jpg

Here are some images of our lunch at the Taco Bar which I would highly recommend to anyone visiting.

kerrijaco.jpg

sheilajaco.jpg

After lunch we went for a walk down the main strip of Jaco. I tried to ignore the gentleman's clubs and all the massage/spa places but still it had a less than attractive vibe to it. I am not a big fan of downtown Los Cabo, Mexico either...they're pretty comparable vibes. Plus the people working at the stores weren't sure if they liked tourists. Most seemed indifferent us, once in awhile someone was friendly.

The last consulting gig I finished up (Dec 2017) was in the coffee industry. I got to flash learn everything there was to know about coffee so when I saw this Monkey Poop Coffee shop we had to go in.

monkeypoop.jpg

Turns out Monkey Poop is just a brand name...the coffee is regular coffee from coffee beans from a coffee farm. Roasted the same way as any other coffee... alrighty? I got a bag of Monkey Poop Coffee anyhow to bring to my old coworkers. I think they'll get a kick out of it.

I also wanted to include this image of what the washing machine looked like when my mom washed the bag she bought. When she bought the bag in Jaco it started transferring dye onto her arms, legs, feet, really anything the bag touched. After a few washes it stopped transferring dye but it looks like a very different bag now!

laundry.jpg

Sort:  

Que hermoso lugar, espero poder ir algun dia y disfrutarlo como ustedes lo han hecho, disfruten como nunca, saludos.

simply outstanding

Thanks for reading ^^

Looks like was a nice trip!

It's been really great so far! Thanks for reading :)

Hi, I've been to Costa Rica myself several times. The dentist's there are awesome too. My next adventure there is to head into the jungles.

Good to know about the dentists. We're in Manzanillo right now which is 20 mins from the Panama border on the Caribbean side. People mostly use bikes to get around. It's super cool if you are looking for a jungle spot. We used Caribe Shuttle to take us here :) About 5 - 6 hours from San Jose.

I visited Costa Rica several years ago and I loved it! Pura Vida!!

Pura Vida is right!

Costa Rica is such a nice place to visit, I love it.

Me as well. I'm sure I'll be back and thanks for reading and commenting. :)

This is beautiful, when you have peace of mind and a serene environs you have everything.

I agree... except I also need wifi.......which has been shotty since we left Jaco.

Cool pics, I went to Costa Rica when i was a child, i visited Playa Tambor. It's a beautiful place too. Hope you recover soon of your injured wrist.

I think I've heard of Playa Tambor... I think it was recommended by a friend as well. Maybe next time..
Thanks for the get well wishes. It will be better soon I hope. <3

Food is a must!

mmmmm yesss. I should post more of the food we eat. Thanks for the suggestion.

Thanks for sharing your travels! This spot has always been on my bucket list!! Hope you enjoy your vacation :)

Hi @tspink, I'd highly recommend Costa Rica. We're on the Caribbean side right now which I'll also post about and it is out of control cool as well. We really lucked out again with our accommodation and the weather has been fantastic as well. What other spots are on your bucket list?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98